Harrogate district placed under Tier 1 of new local lockdown system - here's what it means

It is understood Harrogate will avoid tougher restrictions under the government's new three-tier local lockdown system.It is understood Harrogate will avoid tougher restrictions under the government's new three-tier local lockdown system.
It is understood Harrogate will avoid tougher restrictions under the government's new three-tier local lockdown system.
Harrogate will avoid tougher restrictions under the government's new three-tier local lockdown system.

The district will remain under the current national measures - including the rule of six and 10pm curfew on pubs, bars and restaurants.

Kevin Hollinrake, MP for Malton and Thirsk, said in a tweet that North Yorkshire will be placed under the Tier 1 alert level of the new lockdown system.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

MP Hollinrake said: "Good news that we’re still in medium alert level (lowest) so current rules still apply in North Yorkshire, so, for example, can still go to a pub/restaurant in a group of 6 from up to 6 different households."

Harrogate NHS Nightingale Hospital put on standby as Covid virus cases rise across the north

Most areas of England will come under the Tier 1 - or "medium" - alert level, but areas with local restrictions on household mixing are automatically on "high" alert.

The Prime Minister said all retail outlets, schools and universities will remain open.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Boris Johnson announced the new system earlier today, saying it "simplifies and standardises" coronavirus restrictions.

New lockdown rules for millions of people in the north of England - including Leeds - will come into force at 5pm on Wednesday.

Mr Johnson said: "The weeks and months ahead will continue to be difficult and will test the mettle of this country. I have no doubt at all that together we will succeed.”

The Harrogate district has had a total of 1,437 cases since the start of the pandemic, with a weekly infection rate of 117 cases per 100,000 people.

That is the highest rate in North Yorkshire.

What do Tier One restrictions mean?

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The medium alert level will cover most of England and will consist of the current national measures, including the rule of six and the 10pm curfew.

What do Tier Two restrictions mean?

The high alert level reflects interventions in many areas subject to local restrictions, preventing mixing between different households indoors.

Most areas which are already subject to local restrictions will automatically move into this category, as well as Nottinghamshire, East and West Cheshire and a small area of High Peak.

This will mean the following rules will apply:

Social gatherings of more than six people outdoors or indoors are illegal

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Pubs and restaurants can only operate with table service and must shut by 10pm

Meeting groups of people of six or less is allowed outdoors - although meeting in outdoor public spaces (such as beer gardens) is advised against

Gyms, sports centres, hairdressers and cinemas will still be allowed to operate

Work from home if you can: People who can do their job from home are expected to do so.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Social gatherings are not allowed indoors between anyone who doesn't live together (other than bubbles and exemptions)

People are only advised to use public transport for essential reasons

What do Tier Three restrictions mean?

The very high alert level will mean, at a minimum, the closure of pubs and bars and a ban on social mixing indoors and in private gardens.

Areas in the top tier will be able to impose extra restrictions, and in the Liverpool city region this will mean the closure of leisure centres, gyms, betting shops and casinos.

When will the restrictions come into force?

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The details of the restrictions are set to be debated by MPs on Tuesday, with the rules coming into play on Wednesday (14 October).

Will there be another briefing?

The Prime Minister will host a televised press conference alongside Chief Medical Officer Chris Whitty and Chancellor Rishi Sunak at 7pm, to address the public and answer questions.

By Jacob Webster, Local Democracy Reporter

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.