Shortlist revealed for Old Peculier Crime Novel award

Author Colin Dexter signs books harrogate
Author Colin Dexter signs books harrogate

The shortlist for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year has been revealed today.

Out of the six novels, four are thrillers: S J Watson’s Before I Go To Sleep, The Burning Soul by John Connolly, Now You See Me by S J Bolton and Steve Mosby’s Black Flowers.

The final two are both Glasgow-based novels focused on police procedural style: Where the Bodies are Buried by Chris Brookmyre, and The End of the Wasp Season by Denise Mina.

Voting opens today at and the winner will be announced on the opening night of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival on Thursday, July 19.

On the same night, the Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction award will be presented to Colin Dexter. He was given the CWA Diamond Dagger for outstanding services to crime literature in 1997 and made an OBE in 2000.

Dexter said: “Never had I thought that the gods would be kindly enough to give me such a huge honour so late in my life. Yet here I am, in my early eighties, feeling a profound and heartfelt gratitude for the great honour bestowed on me.”