Bilton Batsmen bowled over in week two of new Harrogate Darts League season

Bilton Batsmen suffered an 8-1 defeat against Bilton Working Men’s Club Dales in week two of the new Harrogate & District Darts League season.
Action from the Manhattan Darts League. Picture: SubmittedAction from the Manhattan Darts League. Picture: Submitted
Action from the Manhattan Darts League. Picture: Submitted

Dales’ James Hall beat Lee Swales 3-0 (24, 20 and 22-dart legs) before Rick Harper saw off Richard Yates by the same scoreline in 20, 21 and 24 darts.

James Pedel took a 3-1 victory over Alex Pride with 21 and 19-dart legs, plus a 180, before Jack Fleming beat Nigel Saville 3-0 with a 23-dart opener.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Lewis Pride then overcame Chris Wood 3-1 to provide the Batsmen’s only point of the night (23, 20 and 21-dart legs) before Pete Newbould thrashed Tony Sharratt 3-0 with 25, 18 and 23-dart legs and a 180 in each.Hall and Harper triumphed 2-0 with a 15-dart leg (including a 116 checkout from Hall) with Wood and Newbould winning 2-0 before Fleming and Pedel took a 2-1 success in the final doubles match.

Elsewhere, Harlow Hill sank 1899 Trades Hall, triumphing by a 6-3 margin.

Harlow’s Adi Shaw kicked-off with a 3-0 win over Jonathon Wareing, with Jamie Patterson achieving the same score-line against Ian Gibson.

Alex Eadington hit a 24-dart leg opener but succumbed to Trades Hall’s Tony Green 3-1, while Brian Ellison took 72 darts (23, 27 and 22) to demolish Mike Lamb 3-0.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Trades Hall’s Richard Taylor then beat Lee Carey 3-0 with a 24-dart second leg.

A bye in the final singles match meant that only two doubles matches were played.

Shaw and Patterson secured a scrappy 2-0 victory over Gibson and Lamb, with Ellison and Jim losing 2-1 to Green and Taylor despite a 24-dart opener, making it 6-3 on the night.Manhattan Madhatters were beaten 6-3 by Starbeck Cons Mahoosive.

Michael Prisk beat Leigh Rowley 3-1 with a 106 checkout and 21 and 22-dart legs to open up proceedings.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

James Keane edged Jordan Harper 3-2 with a 180 and a 22-dart final leg. Ian Malkin then overcame Danny Gamble 3-1 with 23 and 21-dart legs.

Sam Davey fought back from 2-0 down against Pop Herron, winning in 20, 21 and 18 darts in a titanic battle. Ryan Blanchard beat Matty Vincent 3-1 with a 17-dart leg (despite Vincent’s 19-dart leg). Paul Kennedy then took Steve Robinson down 3-0.Robinson teamed up with Gamble to triumph 2-1 against Vincent and Blaine with a 23-dart leg to win the match.

Davey and Malkin beat Blanchard and Prisk with 18 and 19-dart legs and a 120 out from Malkin, with Keane and Kennedy beating Herron and Harper 2–1.

In Division Two, George & Dragon beat Bilton Umpires 6-3.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The clash of the former Division One teams got underway with Craig Gibson (24) getting a 2-0 win over Steve Scruton.

Sonia Porter then beat Jamie Saville 2-0 with a 22-dart opener before Jamie Preece took Ken Glew apart 2-0 with another 22-dart leg.

Dion took a 2-0 win over Ben Fleming, opening in 21 darts, and Ian Denny won 2-0 against Andy Darling before Luke Saville lost 2-1 to Mark White.

Saville and Fleming were successful in their doubles match, along with White and Denny, sandwiching a victory for Dion and Darling.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Prince Of Wales were edged out by Londesboro GS, falling to a 5-4 reverse.

Jayson Duck beat Matthew Lambert 2-0 before Tony Cash equalised with a 2-1 success over Adam Whitehouse.

Jim Green then beat Terry Jackson 2-0, with Shaun Smith overcoming Andy Darling 2-1 with 21 and 24-dart legs.

Phil Gray beat Lorna Nelson 2-0 before Dane Calmers took a 2-0 win over Gary Whelans (23-dart winning leg).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Calmers and Cash beat Whitehouse and Whelans before Smith and Green leveled matters at 4-4, only for Gray and Calmers to sink Duck and Nelson and decide matters in Lonesboro’s favour.Starbeck Cons beat School Of Darts 6-3.

Mick Butterfield lost 2-1 to Alan Roberts in a high-scoring affair before Jono Bradley went down by the same score-line to Tony Hawkes.

Colin Bunyan dug deep, producing a 20-dart leg including a 180 to win a match 2-0 against Chris Adams, while Charlie Sykes lost 2-1 to the veteran Dennis Wise, seeing his undefeated streak end in the process.

Luke McAvoy took Alan Clark apart 2-0, making it 3-2 before Natasha Norcliffe lost 2-0 to James Marriott.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Bradley and Norcliffe paired up to sink Roberts and Marriott before McAvoy and Sykes were turned over by Adams and Roberts, with Bunyan and Butterfield losing meekly to Wise and Hawkes, with the former checking out 77, the highest of the night. .

Taking place at the Manhattan Club, 24 players from across Yorkshire play in the Manhattan Premier League.

The competition is an individuals league with matches decided after the best of 10 legs. A prize fund of more than £3,500 is at stake.

After the first four weeks of competition, Harrogate’s Steve Higgins is holding top stop, but in very close contention are Leeds-based players Steve Brown and former Lakeside participant Martin Atkins.

At the end of the season, additional prize money is awarded for the fastest game, highest finish and most 180s. These currently stand at a 12-dart leg, 160 finish and nine 180s.

Related topics: