Skrill North: Harrogate Town release half their squad

editorial image

Harrogate Town manager Simon Weaver has chopped 10 players from the club’s payroll following the conclusion of the Skrill North season.

Weaver’s side finished ninth in the league but he has seen the need to release seven players, with three more failing to get contracts but being invited back for pre-season.

Club legend Dave Merris joined Adam Bolder, Steve Mallory, Dwayne Samuels, Anton Brown, Cleveland Taylor and Liam Hardy on the list of players sent packing from the CNG Stadium.

Matt Heath, Michael Woods and Conor Sellars will report back before the start of the 2014/15 campaign.

The Town manager admitted that it was not an easy call to make: “We have had to make big decisions. Any football manager has to be ruthless.”

However there was good news for some players. Club captain Shane Killock and top scorer Ashley Worsfold have been offered new deals at the CNG Stadium.

Adam Nowakowski, Craig Nelthorpe, Matt Bloomer and Alex Metcalfe have also been kept on for next season, as have Dan Clayton, Dominic Rowe and Peter Cook.

Goalkeeper Craig MacGillivray has also been offered terms ahead of the new season but the club is still awaiting his response.

Leigh Franks signed a two-year contract last season and will stay.

The manager has revealed that the decision to overhaul the squad lies behind a desire to play a different brand of football next season.

He said: “We are just looking for something slightly different for the way we are going to play next year.

“We have to make sure we have a very dynamic team.

“In midfield, we are trying to add more legs to it. Our pitch is a fast pitch and we just wanted a bit more.”

Chris Hall’s future is yet to be decided. Both parties are waiting to see how the striker recovers from injury before making a decision.

Read Thursday’s Harrogate Advertiser for more information.