Press Box awards: Parry top sportsperson as ’Shaw take team gong

hsb  Beckwithshaw players with Club Chairman David Wilson and scorer Ben Smith celebrate winning the Aire Wharfe League.  (130831M3)
hsb Beckwithshaw players with Club Chairman David Wilson and scorer Ben Smith celebrate winning the Aire Wharfe League. (130831M3)

While the nation’s biggest sports names were celebrating in Leeds last week, our online pundits mulled over the nominations for the district’s top heroes of 2013.

Reporters Ed White and Alex Johnstonlaunched their own inaugural sports awards on the weekly online video, The Press Box earlier this month. Now they can announce their winners.

hsb  Golfer John Parry.  (130717M2i)

hsb Golfer John Parry. (130717M2i)

Scooping the prestigious Sportsperson of the Year award for 2013 was Knaresborough golfer John Parry.

After his US Open heroics, miraculously making the cut before finishing tied-28th, Parry enjoyed top 10 finishes at both the Scottish Open (fifth) and Welsh Open (fourth) this year.

Harrogate squash player Jenny Duncalf was runner-up after marking her 100th England cap with European Team glory.

In the Coach of the Year category, Tadcaster Albion’s Paul Marshall took the award after masterminding his side’s 24-match unbeaten streak on a shoe-string budget.

Paul Marshall

Paul Marshall

Lee Barraclough was also commended for Bardsey FC’s WYA Premier triumph.

The Team of the Year award will travel to Beckwithshaw CC for their record-breaking Aire-Wharfe league win and Evening Cup glory.

‘Shaw finished the summer with 111 points, a mere 37 ahead of Bilton. Harrogate RUFC’s promotion back to National Two North earned them second spot.

Like the SPOTY’s Unsung Hero award, the Press Box s also recognised the great and good behind the scenes of local sport.

After 45 years of service to football in Ripon, the boys have awarded Ripon City chairman Sue Dennison the prize after her commitment to City, Yorkshire Magnets and Ripon Red Arrows since 1968.

She has worked in every position imaginable behind the scenes at a football club – from refereeing to washing the kit and leading the club as chairman. And her efforts garnered an FA award and trip to Buckingham Palace earlier this year.

Knaresborough’s British Superbikes rider Dan Linfoot earned the Comeback of the Year prize after his return from a horror smash to earn several top 10 finishes.

Narrowly missing out on Comeback of the Year, Harrogate Town’s pitch featured in the Matchday Experience award.

With the best burgers in town, a social media mascot (@SammySulphur) and a chorus of “Let’s all go to Bettys”, Harrogate Town and their supporters scooped the gong.

Finally, the lads paid special testament to a man that has gained an impressive collection of shirts in 2013.

Former Harrogate Town midfielder Dan Clayton was the winner of Journeyman of the Year. Clayton has already represented Harrogate Town, Knaresborough Town, Ripon City, Boroughbridge, Gainsborough Trinity and Glasshoughton Welfare this season and signed for North Ferriby United this week.

lDon’t miss this week’s Press Box video, where Ed and Alex debate the latest happenings in local sport. Log on to