Leeds United: Whites seeking more home comforts in Capital One Cup

Souleymane Doukara in action against Accrington Stanley.
Souleymane Doukara in action against Accrington Stanley.

THE first-round draw of the Capital One Cup takes place today, with Leeds United seeking home comforts for the sixth successive year after some benign draws in recent years.

You have to go back to 2009-10 for the last time that Leeds have been handed an away assignment in the first round of the competition, with the club having received five consecutive first-round ties at Elland Road in the past five seasons.

Accrington were disposed of 2-1 last season thanks to a double from Souleymane Doukara, his first goals for United – in a game which saw fellow summer signing Gaetano Berardi dismissed.

In 2013-14, Chesterfield lost out by the same margin at Leeds, with United coming from behind to triumph through goals from Michael Brown and Dominic Poleon.

Shrewsbury were emphatically beaten 4-0 in a one-sided first-round contest at the start of 2012-13, with strikes netted by Luke Varney and David Norris on their debuts.

Luciano Becchio and Ross McCormack (penalty) were also on target for Leeds – who reached the quarter-finals that season before losing out to Chelsea.

In 2011-12, Leeds prevailed by the odd goal in five in a tight West Yorkshire derby against visiting Bradford City, avoiding an upset by twice coming from behind.

Honduran winger Ramon Nunez enjoyed his best outing in a Whites jersey, with two goals, including the winner, with McCormack also on the scoresheet.

Lincoln City were sent packing 4-0 at the start of 2010-11, with goals from Jonathan Howson, Becchio, Lloyd Sam and Neil Kilkenny ensuring a stroll for United, who have never lost in the first round of the competition.

The draw for the first-round is at 10am tomorrow (Tuesday), with the seeded teams split into two regional groups – based predominantly on a north and south split – and drawn against an unseeded team from the equivalent pot on a random home or away basis.

The seeded teams from Yorkshire are Barnsley, Bradford, Huddersfield Town, Hull City, Leeds, Middlesbrough, Rotherham, Sheffield Wednesday and Sheffield United.

First round ties will be played during the week commencing August 10, 2015.