Town to kick-off National League campaign at home to Sutton United

Harrogate Town will play in the National League for the first time in their history in 2018/19. Picture: Matt Kirkham
Harrogate Town will play in the National League for the first time in their history in 2018/19. Picture: Matt Kirkham

Harrogate Town will begin their first ever National League campaign with a home clash against Sutton United at the CNG Stadium on Saturday, August 4.

The U’s, who also play on a 3G pitch, should provide a stern test first up having narrowly missed out on promotion to the Football League at the end of last season, losing out to Boreham Wood in their play-off semi-final showdown.

Simon Weaver’s team’s second fixture, and first away trip of 2018/19, will see them travel to Hartlepool United on Tuesday, August 7.

A trip to Bromley (August 11), a midweek home clash with Barnet (August 14) and visit to Aldershot Town (August 18) make up the club’s first five fixtures.

This season’s Boxing Day clash pits Town against Halifax on Wednesday, December 26, before they head to The Shay for the return match a few days later on January 1, with AFC Fylde visiting Wetherby Road in between on Saturday, December 29.

The first Bank Holiday encounter of the camapign will see Weaver and his men visit Fylde on Monday, August 27, while Good Friday brings a trip to Leyton Orient, followed by Gateshead at home on Easter Monday.

Town’s final National League fixture of the season takes place on Saturday, April 27, when the Sulphurites travel to Wrexham.

Other notable fixtures include Leyton Orient at home (September 22), Chesterfield at home (November 3) and their longest away excursion at Dover Athletic away (February 9).

HARROGATE TOWN 2018/19 NATIONAL LEAGUE FIXTURES:

Sat Aug 4 Sutton United H

Tue Aug 7 Hartlepool United A

Sat Aug 11 Bromley A

Tue Aug 14 Barnet H

Sat Aug 18 Aldershot Town A

Sat Aug 25 Solihull Moors H

Mon Aug 27 AFC Fylde A

Sat Sep 1 Eastleigh H

Tue Sep 4 Gateshead A

Sat Sep 8 Havant & Waterlooville H

Sat Sep 15 Maidstone United A

Sat Sep 22 Leyton Orient H

Tue Sep 25 Wrexham H

Sat Sep 29 Boreham Wood A

Sat Oct 6 Ebbsfleet United A

Sat Oct 13 Dover Athletic H

Sat Oct 27 Dagenham & Redbridge A

Tue Oct 30 Barrow H

Sat Nov 3 Chesterfield H

Sat Nov 17 Maidenhead United A

Sat Nov 24 Braintree Town H

Tue Nov 27 Salford City A

Sat Dec 1 Solihull Moors A

Sat Dec 8 Aldershot Town H

Sat Dec 22 Eastleigh A

Wed Dec 26 FC Halifax Town H

Sat Dec 29 AFC Fylde H

Tue Jan 1 FC Halifax Town A

Sat Jan 5 Sutton United A

Sat Jan 19 Hartlepool United H

Sat Jan 26 Barnet A

Sat Feb 2 Bromley H

Sat Feb 9 Dover Athletic A

Sat Feb 16 Ebbsfleet United H

Sat Feb 23 Chesterfield A

Sat Mar 2 Dagenham & Redbridge H

Sat Mar 9 Braintree Town A

Tue Mar 12 Salford City H

Sat Mar 16 Maidenhead United H

Sat Mar 23 Barrow A

Sat Mar 30 Maidstone United H

Sat Apr 6 Havant & Waterlooville A

Sat Apr 13 Boreham Wood H

Fri Apr 19 Leyton Orient A

Mon Apr 22 Gateshead H

Sat Apr 27 Wrexham A