Seven exit CNG Stadium as Town reveal retained list

Fans' favourite Terry Kennedy is leaving Harrogate Town. Picture: Matt Kirkham
Fans' favourite Terry Kennedy is leaving Harrogate Town. Picture: Matt Kirkham

A number of big names and fans’ favourites will be departing Harrogate Town following their promotion to the National League.

Defenders Terry Kennedy, John McCombe and Louie Swain are among seven players the club will not be offering new contracts to for 2018/19.

Marcus Day, Ben Middleton, Jack Vann and Bailey Gooda will also be leaving the CNG Stadium.

Winger Joe Leesley and striker Dominic Knowles signed new deals last week, while centre-half Callum Howe has joined from Port Vale.

Town have decided to retain the services of goalkeeper James Belshaw plus defenders Warren Burrell, Ryan Fallowfield, Ben Parker and Toby Lees.

Midfielders Josh Falkingham, Jack Emmett, Lloyd Kerry, Liam Agnew and George Thomson will also remain at the club alongside forwards Mark Beck and Jordan Thewlis.

An announcement is yet to be made regarding the future of ex-Sheffield United frontman Jake Wright.

The departures of central defensive duo Kennedy and McCombe will come as a surprise to some fans as both played a significant part in helping the club escape National League North.

Former Sheffield United and Barnsley man Kennedy contributed an impressive nine goals from defence and was voted Harrogate Town Supporters’ Away Travel Player of the Season.

He did however find himself out of the side during the latter stages of the campaign following the arrival of the experienced McCombe from Chester.

The giant ex-York City stalwart became an ever-present after signing in February and added real nous and assurance to the Town back-line.

Local lad Swain has enjoyed two spells at the club inbetween a brief stint at Spennymoor.

He took to social media to announce that “sadly today brings the end of four seasons with my home-town team, this season by far being the best, topped off with promotion!

“Going to miss all involved and wish everyone the best for next year.”