Eight players to depart Harrogate Town upon expiry of their contracts

Eight players will depart Harrogate Town this summer after learning that they will not be offered new deals.

Friday, 14th May 2021, 5:18 pm
Updated Friday, 14th May 2021, 5:22 pm
Ex-Glasgow Celtic winger Calvin Miller is leaving Harrogate Town. Pictures: Matt Kirkham

The League Two Sulphurites confirmed their retained list on Friday afternoon, with goalkeeper Joe Cracknell the only one of nine out-of-contract squad members to be offered terms to stay at Wetherby Road.

Goalkeeper Melvin Minter, defenders Jake Lawlor and Jay Williams, midfielders Calvin Miller, Scott Brown and Ed Francis and forward Brendan Kiernan will all be released, as will striker Jon Stead, who has already announced his intention to retire.

This will leave Harrogate with 17 players on their books heading into the 2021/22 campaign, their second in the Football League following on from this term’s 17th-placed finish.

Brendan Kiernan.

Players contracted to Town beyond this summer:

Goalkeepers: James Belshaw, Joe Cracknell.

Defenders: Ryan Fallowfield, Will Smith, Warren Burrell, Connor Hall, Kevin Lokko.

Midfielders: Josh Falkingham, George Thomson, Joe Leesley, Connor Kirby, Lloyd Kerry, Tom Walker, Simon Power.

Forwards: Mark Beck, Aaron Martin, Jack Muldoon.

Loanees Dan Jones, William Hondermarck, Josh McPake, Mitchell Roberts and Josh Andrews have all returned to their parent clubs.

Josh March headed back to Forest Green Rovers back in March having sustained a season-ending injury.