Entries assembled for 2014 Riponian Rally

editorial image

A lower than normal entry of cars will assemble at the Thirsk Auction Mart and Rural Business Centre on Sunday for the 2014 Riponian Stages Rally, organised by Ripon Motor Sport Club

The first 12 crews are entered in the Historic Class for pre 1985 and will be led away at the 8.30 start by Ripon Motor Sport Club crew Tom Hewick and Mick Johnson.

They will be followed by a previous winner of the Historic Class, Mathew Robinson, also from the Ripon club, accompanied by Sam Collis from Chesterfield in another Ford Escort.

After the Historic category cars have left, there will be a 10 minute gap before the first of the modern crews depart from Thirsk.

The first of these will be a Riponian regular and last year’s runner up, Ian Joel with Graeme Wood from Carnforth in a Ford Escort Cosworth.

Another Riponian regular, Peter Stephenson with Ian Windress from Northallerton follow next in a Ford Focus WRC. Third away is Sheffield crew Mark Fowler and Chris Dewsnap in a Subaru Imprezza. Crews will be faced with two loops of five competitive stages totalling just under 40 miles, in the forests between Thirsk and Helmsley, including Boltby, Wass Moor, Waterloo/Deer Park, Riccal Dale and EastMoor/Roppa.

There are two spectator car parks, one on a forest track giving access to the Roppa stage, and one in Duncombe Park accessing the Waterloo Stage. Cars will be charged £10 per car for each park.

In addition to the organising team from Ripon Motorsport Club, more than 20 club members will also be competing at the event.