Smales scoops double honours at Fulford League awards night

hsb  Harrogate Nova Cycling Club members at their awards night.  (121015M5a)
hsb Harrogate Nova Cycling Club members at their awards night. (121015M5a)

Steve Smales of Boneshakers was crowned both League and Veteran Champion of the Fulford Cycles TT League at the prize presentation last Monday.

Smales (450 points), who produced the most dominant display yet seen in the league, had a best nine of nine wins with an astonishing 10 new course records.

Runner-up was Nova’s Duncan Mullier (435 points) who scored four wins and six second places with teammate Dave Morris (409 points) third.

In fourth place was Boneshaker’s Junior Edwyn Oliver-Evans (395 points) who rewrote the school-boy record books last year and this year did the same with the junior records. Nova’s Walter Busuttil (315 points) won the over 50s title, whilst National 65-70 Champion, Mike Shacklock of Yorkshire Road Club (352 points), won the over 60s title.

The ladies’ competition was won for the third year in a row by Nova’s Joanne Ketteringham with a perfect nine wins.

Corinne Mitchell came second ahead of an improving Alison Sarmiento.

The Most Improved Rider accolades went to Tim Jarvis and Edwyn Oliver-Evans and the Best New Riders to Simon Cave and Gordon Simpson.

Nova riders Bobbin Gardner and Tommy Buckle were presented with the Junior Road Trophy and Clark Cup for the fastest 10 mile TT by a school-boy respectively.

Riders would like to thank Vaughan and Margaret Caswell for organising and running another successful year.

For more cycling news visit