Ketteringham takes top prize at cycle league awards night

hsb  Harrogate Nova Cycling Club presentation evening.  (111017M3)
hsb Harrogate Nova Cycling Club presentation evening. (111017M3)

ANOTHER season of high drama, blood, sweat and tears in the Fulford Cycles Race League was celebrated at the annual awards night.

Held at Bilton Cricket Club on Monday, league members and officials gathered to see those who finished at the top collect their trophies.

Yorkshire Road Club’s Ian Fairweather picked up the top overall prize, finishing first after a superb season on the road.

The next six placings saw Duncan Mullier take second, Nigel Goscinksi finish third, Paul Caswell fourth, Simon Ketteringham fifth and super-vet Dave Morris sixth.

Ladies winner was Nova’s Joanne Ketteringham, hotly pursued by Corinne Mitchell and Alison Sarmiento.

Edwyn Oliver-Evans took the Schoolboys award after breaking nine schoolboy records, Duncan Mullier the Vets Over 40, Tim Broomfield the Vets Over 50 and Tony Kent the Vets Over 60.

Rob Senior was co-awarded the Most Improved Rider award with Morris.

Tommy Buckle took the Clarke Trophy for fastest school-boy in a ten mile TT with 29:48 and William Staveley the Junior Road Race Trophy.

The 2011 season had eighty-three competitors and saw all the 2010 champions retain their titles.

The league thanked Vaughan and Margaret Caswell for their efforts in co-ordinating the season, and time keepers Barry Martin and Jim Lee.