Heavy rain fails to put brakes on Time Trial

Rob Senior - Thew Cup winners.
Rob Senior - Thew Cup winners.

The eighth round of the Fulford Cycles Time Trial League was the 25 mile TT from Boroughbridge to Walshford to Dishforth and back to Boroughbridge.

Heavy rain before the start meant roads were flooded as the starters and riders discussed options in the car park. In drying conditions a reduced field of 21 lined up.

The evening was not destined to get any better for Nova riders Chris Mawer and Simon Thomas as both punctured and were faced with long walks to rescue.

Yorkshire Road Club’s Ian Fairweather, who punctured in his last league event, demonstrated his superiority with first place in 55:55, 40 seconds down on his league record set last year.

In second and with his fourth veteran’s record of the season was Yorkshire Velo’s Nigel Goscinski in 57:55, closely followed by Nova’s Duncan Mullier in 58:11.

Nova’s Dave Morris was delighted to crack the magic sub hour mark for a 25 mile TT in 58:30.

Simon Ketteringham, still recovering from several hard mile sportives, was disappointed not to break the 25mph barrier, coming home fourth in 60:34, 29 seconds ahead or Yorkshire Road Club’s super veteran Mike Shacklock (61:03).

Another vastly improved rider this season is Nova’s Rob Senior, who came home in 61:24 and claimed the Thew Cup on a handicap system. Rob will be looking to break the hour on a ‘faster’ course later in the season.

Nova’s Edwyn Oliver-Evans claimed yet another school boy record with 63:00, 55 seconds ahead of Mike Hudson. Dave Barker with 64:28 rounded out the top ten.

Tim Jarvis claimed second in the Thew Cup handicap with 65:12 and Tim Broomfield third with 67:20.

There were no surprised in the ladies competition with Joanne Ketteringham of Nova powering to a 3:12 victory over teammate Corinne Mitchell with 66:24 and 69:36 respectively.

The league now has a rest week before returning for the 12 mile TT of Milby-Topcliffe-Kirby Hill-Milby.

The half term report sees Ian Fairweather a certainty to regain his league title, having won four out of five, puncturing in the fifth.

Less clear cut is the veterans title, but Nigel Goscinski is the clear favourite, ahead of 2010 champion Duncan Mullier.

Mullier has never been too far behind and is considerably improved over last year.

But Goscinski has been faster in five of the six league meetings between the two.

Mullier will be encourage by his clear winning margin in the Hilly 19 and will be looking towards the three hill climb TTs and will be buoyed by his success over Goscinski at the weekend’s open TT.

Dave Morris deserves a special mention, as he’s come from mid table to drive himself in the tiny gap that existed last season between Mullier and Ketteringham. Ketteringham himself has had a great sportive season but has been off the pace comparatively at the TTs.

Traditionally he’s always been stronger in the second half of the season and is likely to have something to say before the league finishes.

It seems that all Edwyn Oliver-Evans has to do is turn up to claim another record but this school boy is a real talent.

His records have been eclipsing the older Junior category too.

Joanne Ketteringham is now one win from the maximum of nine, but will need ten to make it mathematically certain.

On the open scene Nova’s Duncan Mullier has had the time of his life.

He smashed his 50 mile TT personal best by a few seconds short of ten minutes on the A19 between Kirk Levington and Dishforth. Clocking an astonishing 1:51:53 or 27mph, winning the handicap event in the process.

Mike Shacklock also produced an amazing ride with 1:55:33.

Whilst Mullier and Shacklock were tackling the 50 Ian Fairweather was winning the East Bradford 10 mile TT from Arkendale Lane End to Walshford with 21:55, two seconds ahead of Steve Gore-Brown.

The following weekend several local riders rode in the Yorkshire Road Club 25 mile TT on the A19 between Topcliffe and Thirsk.

Yet again the wind was blowing hard, slowing the 75 riders but despite that Ian Fairweather placed third with 53:45,

Boneshaker’s Oliver Pearce came ninth with 54:34, Duncan Mullier, despite mechanical difficulties, 12th in a 56:07 and an off-the-pace Nigel Goscinski 18th in 57:53.

Full results on www.harrogatenova.com.