Fairweather off to a flyer in Fulford opener

editorial image

The first event of the 2011 Fulford Cycles Evening Time Trial League took place in bright sunshine on the nine-mile course from Farnham to Ferrensby to Minskip to Staveley and back to Farnham.

Thirty-seven riders faced the starter, two on a tandem, and last year’s peerless senior champion Ian Fairweather of Yorkshire Road Club came home fastest in a time of 20:58, ten seconds off the record he set last year.

League newcomer, but experienced rider on the open TT scene, Nigel Goscinski of Yorkshire Velo was 55 seconds down, setting a Veteran’s course record in the process.

Fifteen seconds later was 2010 Veteran Champion Duncan Mullier of Nova, team mate and arch rival Simon Ketteringham three seconds behind.

Super vet and Harrogate TT legend Tony Kent finished fifth (22:31).

Scotton 100 champion Paul Caswell came home in sixth ahead of Mike Hudson and Dave Morris, who were separated by a single second.

Alisdair Mitchell came tenth ahead of school boy Edwyn Oliver-Evans with Chris Mawer and Mike Shacklock in a dead heat for 12th. Oliver-Evans, the Yorkshire Youth Cyclocross Champion, who claimed a schoolboy record on all but one of his rides last year, again broke the course record.

The ladies title was dominated last year by Nova’s Joanne Ketteringham and she was in no mood to relinquish her crown, taking the ladies race in 25:28, breaking her own course record ahead of Corinne Mitchell and Caroline Mullier.

The father and son team of Martin and Ben Shaw clocked 28:20 on a tandem.

The next event is the ten mile out and back along the A168 from Arkendale Lane End to Walshford and back. Results on nova.mullier.me/index.html, www.harrogatenova.com.

Several local riders took part in the Hull(RC) 10 mile TT on the super fast 10 course on the A63 near the Humber bridge.

One record that was broken was the fastest 10 mile TT by a member of Harrogate Nova, when Simon Hudson clocked 20:33, 29.2mph. Mike Shacklock of Yorkshire Road Club came home in 21:06 with Nova’s Duncan Mullier in 21:23.

Fulford’s Cycles Evening TT league and Yorkshire Cycling Federation Champion Ian Fairweather (Yorkshire Road Club) began the defence of his YCF crown in the Ravensthorpe 10 mile TT on the old A1 near Ferrybridge.

Fairweather came home third in 22:13, with Boneshaker’s Oliver Pearce seventh in 22:49, Yorkshire Velo’s Nigel Goscinski 9th 23:00, Nova’s Ian Peacock 24:28 and YRC’s Mike Shacklock 24:41.

The following weekend Fairweather came fourth (20:55) on the 10 course on the A19 north of Thirsk. Boneshaker’s Steve Smales was eighth in 21:17.