Fairweather first in Dishforth as Barker lifts Jowett Cup

Harrogate Time Trial - Nova's Dave Morris and Mike Barker who won the Jowett Cup. (S)
Harrogate Time Trial - Nova's Dave Morris and Mike Barker who won the Jowett Cup. (S)

IAN Fairweather sped to victory in event five of the Fulford Cycles Time Trial League, a ten-mile out and back between Dishforth and Roecliffe with 38 riders.

Fairweather was back after a hiatus to compete in the national 10 mile TT championships the previous weekend and knocked an amazing 33 seconds off Craig Stevenson’s previous league record to finish first in 22:04.

Experienced Nova man Paul Caswell was second in 23:08. Nova’s Dave Morris is now two podiums up, finishing in 23:18 and beating teammate Duncan Mullier for the first time by three seconds.

Mullier was pushed off the podium for the first time this season despite breaking the veteran’s record, which puts Morris’ achievement into context.

The ladies event was won yet again by the irrepressible Joanne Ketteringham in 26:48, 35 seconds ahead of Corinne Mitchell, in another record time. The only record left unbroken was the junior record, but there was no rider in that category.

Nova riders also competed for the Jowett Cup, awarded for the fastest rider on a handicap based on their previous results.

Dave Barker won the trophy with an adjusted time of 22:21, eight seconds ahead of Gary Marks and 9 ahead of Dave Wrightson. Mike Hutchings was fourth a further six seconds back. Full Results on www.harrogatenova.com.

The open scene was dominated by the National Ten Mille TT Chmpionships, held this year in North Yorkshire on the A19 Crathorne-Tontine out and back.

There aren’t many sports where a superstar and multiple gold medallist turns up with his bike in the boot of his car and changes in the car park, but that’s what Brad Wiggins did before defeating record holder Michael Hutchinson. Top local finisher was Otley CC’s Ged Milward, placing 49th.

Ian Fairweather placed 63rd out of 117 starters.