Cyclo Cross beats the weather as 160 riders head to Harrogate

editorial image

The eighth Round of the Yorkshire Cyclo-Cross summer league was held again at Harrogate’s, Killinghall Moor Community Park last Wednesday.

More than 160 riders took part in the two races.

Despite a damp weather forecast the rain held off, resulting in fast dry racing over the twisting undulating circuit.

The U-14s race was won by Euan Cameron of East Bradford with local riders Guss Gardner coming 11th, Louis Mason of Nova 14th and Luke Parker finishing 20th.

The main race was won by Jedi Cyclesports’ ace Ian Taylor.

First Harrogate rider and First Junior was Boneshakers Edwyn Oliver-Evans, who finished eighth.

Nova’s Greg Ketteringham and Dave Morris then had a personal battle all race with Ketteringham just edging the contest in 16th and Morris 17th.

Moonglu’s Trevor Schofield was 23rd Boneshakers Steve Smales 26th and Hope’s Bobbin Gardner 30th.

Other local riders were Charles Warren 42nd, TNFC’s Andrew Hollgate 61st and Jamie Booth 62nd, Nova’s Richard Pennock 68th and Nick Mason 81st Nathan Parker 87th and Adrian Parker 106th .

Thanks go to YCCA for organising the race and Harrogate Borough Council for use of the facilities.