Thirkell’s superb 192 not out knock guides Burton to Galphay glory

hsb  Russell Robshaw bowling for Goldsborough against Ouseburn.  (130706M3e)
hsb Russell Robshaw bowling for Goldsborough against Ouseburn. (130706M3e)

A hefty win over Bishop Thornton kept Blubberhouses top of the Theakston Nidderdale League.

Lee Platts (83no) and Sajid Khan (71no) steered ‘Houses to 284-5 batting first, Khan then collecting 4-31 to limit Thornton to 191 in reply.

hsb  Tom Parker batting for Ouseburn against Goldsborough.  (130706M3d)

hsb Tom Parker batting for Ouseburn against Goldsborough. (130706M3d)

Steve Brennand top-scored with 55 for Thornton.

Ouseburn are up to second after comfortably fending off Goldsborough.

A tremendous knock of 126 from Tom Parker guided Ouseburn to 278-8, with helpful contributions from James Bryant (49) and Henry Lord (41).

Jack Joy responded with 62 but Bryant (5-69) and Sam Dale (4-13) skittled Goldsborough for 195.

Another evergreen performance from Nick Richardson guided Killinghall to victory over Dacre Banks.

Josh Cutts scalped 4-45 to limit Dacre to 181-8, Richardson crafting an unbeaten 109 to hoist Killinghall to a winning 183-2.

Darley were unlucky to lose a big-scoring contest with Spofforth, posting 287-5 after superb efforts from Matt Brooks (107) and Chris Gill (90).

Will Long was impressive in Spofforth’s reply, his 110 the foundation of Spofforth’s victorious 289-2 total while Pat Gannon (58), Jim Roberts (59no) and Tom Clark (46no) all provided sturdy contributions.

Champions Hampsthwaite endured another tough week, beaten at home to Helperby by three wickets.

Alistair Darnell (4-31) and Joe Corner (3-39) limited Hamp’ to 128 batting first, which allowed Lane Tutty (40) to spearhead a winning reply of 130-7. A Durie tok 4-32.

Masham weren’t far off against Alne but the visitors took the points.

Ed Myers (60) and James Belli (59) powered Alne to 172-9, against the batting of C Broadley (5-30).

Andy Smith (68) and Adam Smith (43) led the Masham reply but it closed 20 runs short at 152 all out.

A stellar performance from Dan Thirkell inspired Burton Leonard to a crushing win over Galphay.

Thirkell smashed 192 not out alongside Craig Eustace (78) and James Townsend (45), rocketing Burton to 348-3.

Johnny Duffy took 4-49 and Tom Rowley (3-5) helped oust Galphay for 110 in reply.

Meantime Knaresborough Forest thumped Sharow by nine wickets.

Damien Garvey (52) and Ben Johnstone (42) led Sharow to 167-7 against Darren Walker (4-42), before Oli Cullingworth (58no) and Nick Jones (63no) powered Forest clear at 169-1.

Pannal remain top dogs having overcome Pateley Bridge by seven wickes.

Carl Wilson (5-28) and Luke Shermer (4-19) reduced Pateley to 118 before Andy Ellis (54) and Graham Fish (31no) led Pannal to 120-3 in reply.

Bolton Abbey edged out Birstwith, who achieved 141 agains the bowling of Ben Parkinson (4-38), before Abbey squeaked home at 142-9, Sam Stewart hitting 43 and P Hardisty taking 5-31.

Josh Waldron smashed 118 for Ripley on Saturday, Ian Robinson adding 51 to see Ripley up to 253-6. Richard Canham and Ian Taylor both took four wickets to reduce Studley Royal to 107 in return.

West Tanfield kept Newby Hall at bay, making 209-9 with Bodie Arthur (57) top-scoring. Newby reached 199-8 in reply, Dave Wallis pick of the batsmen with 46.

* The finals of the U-13s John Barrett Memorial Trophy sponsored by Arrow will take place at Pannal CC on Sunday from 10am.

Tadcaster & Boston Spa will play either Harrogate or Spofforth. Refreshments available.

Division Three: *Harrogate Strays 305-3 Masham 109 ; *Ouseburn 2nds 207 all out, Markington 210-1; Burnt Yates 255-9, *Killinghall 2nds 262-5; Killinghall 269-5 B Yates 261-8 ; Kirby Malzeard 206-6, Pannal 2nds 209-6; Ouseburn 207 all out lost to Markington 210-1; Rainton 242-2,*Scotton 169-6; Raskelf 211-6, Hampsthwaite 127 all out.

Division Four: *Birstwith 2nds 313-5, Studley Royal 3rds 266-2; *Lofthouse and Middlesmoor 135-8, Thornton Le Moor 92; *Ripon 185-8 Middleham 184 all out; *Staveley 294; Bishop Monkton 133; Alne 2nds 270-2 Newby Hall 2nds 269-8; Pannal Ash 122-6, *Burton Leonard 123-4;

Division Five: *Ripley 188-6, Crakehall 187-8; *Wath and Melmerby 205-7, North Stainley 226-8; Blubberhouses 2nds 222-8 Pateley Bridge 2nds 227-0; Crakehall 187-8, Ripley 2nds 188-6; Sharow 2nds 97, Goldsborough 2nds 101-1. ; Spofforth II beat Harrogate 4ths 214-8 Spofforth 215-7.

Division Six:Bishop Thornton 197, *Glasshouses 198-2; Bolton Abbey 195-8, *Pannal 198-0; Darley 2nds* 127 Sessay 3rds 97; Knaresborough Forest 161, *Boroughbridge 162-4; Little RIbston 216-8, Spennithorne 213.; Raskelf 59 Helperby 62-0.

Division Seven:*Newton Le Willows 161, Arthington 163-8; Marton 152 -10 Ouseburn 156-5; Middleham 2nds 169, birstwith 3rds 14; Studley Royal 4ths 219-5, Pannal 4ths 147-9; Thirsk 246. Dacre Banks 248-4.

Division Eight: Little Ribston 163-7 Ripley 164-2; *West Tanfield 256-8, Knaresborough Forest 10; Helperby 3 178, Hampsthwaite 3 182-2; North Stainley 2nds 113 all out Burnt Yates 115-4; Staveley 2nds 171-6 , *Burton Leonard’s 3rds 172-5.

Division Nine:*Arthington 182-9 Newby Hall 84ao; *Wath & Melmerby 2nds 88ao, Studley Royal 5ths 80ao; Ripley *205, Galphay &Winksley 207-5; Ripon 83-10, *Thirsk 87-1; Wath & Melmerby 88 *Studley Royal 80.