Stunning knock of 229not out fires McGrath into club record books

wet  Anthony Daniels batting for Kirk Deighton against Scarcroft.  (130615M4b)
wet Anthony Daniels batting for Kirk Deighton against Scarcroft. (130615M4b)

Kirk Deighton remain top dogs, after Saturday’s battling win over Scarcroft.

Keith Lambert topscored with 30 for Kirk Deighton, but they struggled against the firepower of Charles Silverton (4-29) and Ghilam Hussain (3-47).

wet  Charles Silverton bowling for Scarcroft against Kirk Deighton.  (130615M4a)

wet Charles Silverton bowling for Scarcroft against Kirk Deighton. (130615M4a)

Damian Ashton’s 47 paved the way for Scarcroft against the bowling of Michael Young (4-9), but they fell short at 153.

But the biggest news of the week was the stunning batting performance at struggling Scholes.

Visiting Shadwell batsman Cody McGrath turned in a stellar display with the willow to crash an astonishing knock of 229 not out, a club record.

The knock was just one run short of the Division One record set last year by Cameron Williams. The all-time league record of 250 was set by Walton’s Pete Phillips in 1994.

McGrath’s efforts led Shadwell to an eyewatering total of 334-5.

Kristian Bade responded with 55 and Jon Collier 33, but four wickets by Joe Burke (4-49) skittled Scholes for 144.

Great Preston saw off Old Mods on Saturday.

Lee Russell (60) and Ian Newton (33no) steered Preston to 169-8. Andy Clarke then took 4-12 to dismiss Mods for 109.

Wetherby were hit with a six-wicket defeat by St Chads Broomfield.

Ian Twitchen (65) and Tom Hudson (30) were the highlights of the reigning champions’ offering, before they were bowled out for 1061.

Paul Ashwell collected 4-43 while Fahim Khan and Sultan Mehmood both earned three wickets apiece.

Howard Johnson (40no) and Matthew Stevens (37no) led Chad’s to victory at 162-4.

Garforth Parish Church defeated Walton, who reached 156 batting first after Andy Conboy (5-25) made life a little tricky.

Garforth’s James Stockton (90no) and James Baldwin (35no) knocked them off at 157-4.

Barwick’s life was made a little harder after their defeat to Bilton tipped them into the relegation zone.

Bilton reached 162 through C Fairhurst (47) and G Hutchison (32) while A Styan bagged 5-31. But Barwick collapsed in reply and were skittled for 65.

In Division Two, Saxton toasted a victory over Kirk Deighton A.

They mustered 110 batting first, and had to contend with the bowling prowess of James Watkins, who grabbed 6-16.

But Deighton faltered in reply, all out for 61. Steve Hills took 3-3.

Thorner endured a seven wicket defeat to Old Leos, dismissed for 87 with Nick Boyes claiming 4-23.

Josh Habergham’s unbeaten 50 steered Leos home at 88-3.

Whixley were too strong for Crossgates, who managed 146 all out batting first. John Richardson earned 3-14.

In reply, Stuart Witham delivered a cultured 61 not out to guide Whixley over the line at 150-3.

Sherburn Eversley stormed past Kirk Hammerton by eight wickets, Sammy Wainwright plundering 5-28 and Barrie Beal 4-13 to limit Hammerton to 89.

Will Martin (45no) drove Sherburn past the post at 90-2 in reply.

Sicklinghall overcame Church Fenton, Steve Wood finishing with 3-31 as Fenton were limited to 152-9. Mark Moorhouse hit 49.Martin Wood (62) set the tone for a winning reply at 153-7.

Hillam lost to South Milford, Martin Pugh (49) topscoring in their 151-9 total.

Pete Batty (52) and Dan White (32no) led Milford clear at 155-4.

Division Three: Scarcroft A 179 all out (0) lost to Headingley Bramhope 182-3 (6); Barwick in Elmet A 198 all out (6) beat Bilton in Ainsty A 133 all out (0) (forfeited by Bilton in Ainsty A due to playing an unregistered player)

Shadwell A 184 all out (1) lost to Ledsham 206-6 (6); East Keswick 224 all out (6) beat Green Hammerton 132 all out (0); Rufforth 82 all out (1) lost to Amaranth 100-6 (6); Long Marston 140-7 (6) beat St Chad’s A 138 all out (1).

Division Four: Thorner Mexborough A 108-5 (6) beat Old Leodiensians A 107 all out (0); St Chads Broomfield B 199-6 (6) beat Saxton A 137 all out (0); Garforth Parish Church A 174-2 (6) beat Walton A 172 all out (0); Old Modernians A 88 all out (0) lost to Great Preston A 92-4 (6); Wetherby A 105 all out (0) lost to Headingley Bramhope A 175 all out (6).

Division Five: Meanwood 92-3 (6) beat Kippax Welfare 90 all out (0); Gledhow 156 all out (6) beat Wighill Park 95 all out (0); Headingley Bramhope B 110 all out (1) lost to Church Fenton A 131 all out (6); Hillam & Monk Fryston A 66 all out (0) lost to South Milford A 70-2 (6); Sherburn Eversley A 55-2 (6) beat Kirk Hammerton A 54 all out (0); Whixley A 151-5 (5) beat Crossgates A 150-7 (0).

Division Six: Sicklinghall A 133-3 (5) beat Scholes A 132-9 (0); Amaranth A 106 all out (0) lost to Rufforth A 109-4 (6); Green Hammerton A 167-7 (0) lost to East Keswick A169-2 (5).

Hare Cup quarter-finals: Wetherby A 105 all out lost to Saxton A 106-1; Garforth Parish Church A 181-9 lost to St Chads Broomfield A 182-3; Sicklinghall A 105 all out lost to Headingley Bramhope A 170-7