Preston pounce as Deighton’s derby falls victim to Saturday deluge

22nd June 2013.  Wetherby League.  Scarcroft v Bilton-in-Ainsty.'Bilton-in-Ainsty's John Walker hits runs.
22nd June 2013. Wetherby League. Scarcroft v Bilton-in-Ainsty.'Bilton-in-Ainsty's John Walker hits runs.

Great Preston have taken over at the top of the Wetherby League, beating Garforth PC on Saturday.

Jamie Scott (36no) topscored as Garforth rached 164 against the bowling of Chris Ellison (4-32) and Andy Clarke (3-53).

But James Marston (51) carried Preston home at 167 in reply, despite the best efforts of Adam Lewis (4-41).

Kirk Deighton dropped off the top after their derby with Wetherby was abandoned with the Grange Park side at 83-6 when the rain came down.

Scarcroft sit third having beaten Bilton in Ainsty by eight wickets.

Damian Aston captured 5-18 and Simon Smith 3-22 to limit Bilton to 76 all out.

Richard Stephens (28no) and Cameron Williams (33) knocked off the target at 80-2.

St Chad’s inflicted a two-wicket defeat upon Old Modernians, who made 191-6 with Nigel Martyn (60no) the pick of the batsmen.

Tim Patterson (56) and Dan Izzard (56) steered Chad’s over the line at 193-8 in reply.

Walton overcame Shadwell by two wickets, Asad Mahmood (4-33) and skipper Mawsoon Hussain (3-23) skittling Shadwell for 118 and dumping them into the relegation zone.

Muhammed Sheikh (46no) and Hussain (45) carried Walton to victory at 120-2 in reply.

Barwick climbed out of the bottom two thanks to their six-wicket win over Scholes.

Danusha Ranasinghe (50) and Adam Hayes (36no) starred for Scholes as they posted 196-4.

But sturdy efforts by Nicky Swales (72) and Gary Bettison (47no) powered Barwick past the post at 199-4.

In Division Two, Kirk Hammerton remain out in front after beating Hillam and Monk Fryston in their latest encounter.

Tom Main (46) and Alex Bramley (48) plus a 59 by Liam Fisher steered Hammerton to an impressive 202 batting first.

Luke Frankland made 45 not out in reply but Hillam were all out for 123.

Old Leos racked up a sturdy 228-8 against Whixley, which laid the foundation for victory.

Chris Butt (33), Christian Rice (74) and James Sykes (35) fired Leos to their total.

Skipper Tim Carter (4-34) and Nick Boyes (4-36) reduced Whixley to 163-9 in reply. John Richardson’s unbeaten 65 was the top Whixley score.

Church Fenton put Kirk Deighton A to the sword by nine wickets, Deighton reaching 141 batting first after good work from Tim Nicholson (52) and Jonny Watkins (58).

Shaun O’Brian captured 4-2.

Fenton then powered home at 142-1 in reply, Kendal Edgley (83no) leading the way and Steve Harrison adding an unbeate 41.

Thorner Mexborough kept Saxton at bay, posting 107 batting first with P Hughes (40) topscoring.

A Mohammed bagged 5-18 to skittle Saxton for 90.

Sicklinghall are bang on course for promotion, sitting second in the Division Two table.

Their latest victims were South Milford, ‘Hall racking up 214-8 courtesy of Phil Wood (58) and T Ryszkowski (41no).

D White hit back with 58 not out but Ryszkowski’s 3-29 kept Milford back at 173-8.

Crossgates held off the challange from Sherburn Eversley, achieving 189 including 60 from S Mohammed.

W Martin hit 43 for Sherburn although S Vishnumohan (5-25) and S Busfield (3-42) proved their downfall at 92 all out.

Great Preston and Walton are through to the semi-finals of the Fred Fleetwood Cup.

Preston beat Bilton in Ainsty, makig 196-5 in reply to Bilton’s 195-9.

Walton racked up 234-7 against Headingley Bramhope, who were all out for 141.

Crossgates v Garforth Parish Church and Wetherby v Old Modernians were both postponed

Division Three: Bilton in Ainsty A 166 all out (1) lost to Scarcroft A 186-4 (6)

Headingley Bramhope 107-4 (5) beat Long Marston 106-9 (0)

St Chads Broomfield A 176 all out (0) lost to Rufforth 177-5 (6)

Amaranth 160 all out (6) beat East Keswick 109 all out (0)

Green Hammerton 82-1 (6) beat Shadwell A 81 all out (0)

Ledsham 242-8 (6) beat Barwick in Elmet A 119 all out (0)

Division Four: Saxton A 111-6 (6) beat Thorner Mexborough A 107 all out (0)

Old Leodiensians A 132-5 (5) beat Wetherby A 131-9 (0)

Headingley Bramhope A 175-5 (0) lost to Old Modernians A 176-6 (5)

Great Preston A (2) v Garforth Parish Church A (2) cancelled

Long Marston A 148 all out (0) lost to St Chads Broomfield B 222 all out (6)

Division Five: Wighill Park 109-9 (0) lost to Meanwood 110-1 (5)

Kippax Welfare 166 all out (1) lost Whixley A 174 all out (6)

Crossgates A 137-5 (5) beat Sherburn Eversley A 130-8 (1)

Kirk Hammerton A 131-5 (1) lost to Hillam & Monk Fryston A 174-7 (5)

South Milford A 183-6 (6) beat Headingley Bramhope B 182 all out (0)

Church Fenton A 233-7 (6) beat Gledhow 142 all out (0)

Division Six: East Keswick A 180 all out (5) beat Amaranth A 140-8 (1)

Rufforth A 145-7 (5) beat Sicklinghall A 144-5 (1)

Scholes A 120-5 (5) beat Green Hammerton A 117-8 (0)