Preston begin where they left off as Deighton deny Scarcroft

editorial image

Great Preston signalled their intention to carry on where they left off last September, the reigning champions thumping Shadwell by 102 runs.

Ian Newton (54) and Lee Russell (49) batted Preston to 225-4, against the bowling of Conor Scholey (3-40).

Russell (3-13) and Mark Mosby (3-30) helped to oust Shadwell for 123 in reply, Brad Taylor (31) and Ed Whittingham (32) doing the best with the willow.

Wetherby lost out to Bilton in Ainsty by two wickets, Ian Twitchen (54) leading Wetherby to 170-9 batting first while Ian Hutchinson took 3-24.

Miles Lloyd (32) and Tim Lambert (31no) led Bilton home at 173-8, Neil Thomas capturing 3-31 and Adam Wilkinson 3-40.

Kirk Deighton captured six points from a four-wicket win over Scarcroft.

Richard Ward (4-18) and Aidan Marshall (4-45) were the chief destroyers in limiting Scarcroft to 98 all out and although Damian Aston bagged 4-21 Deighton eased home at 99-6, Chris Malthouse topscoring with 41.

Sicklinghall finished seven-wicket winners over Walton, who made 155-9 batting first including 32 from Mansoor Hussain while Martin Wood took 3-27.

Sicklinghall pulled home at 158-3 after steady efforts from George Barton (46no), Jamie Crooks (37) and Wood (31).

Old Modernians defeated Old Leos, who were bowled out for 72.

Stuart Borrill captured 4-28, Matthew Walker and Lewis Gomersall both bagging three wickets apiece.

Mods eased by at 74-4 to take the points.

Barwick went to the top of the tree with a six-wicket win over St Chad’s Broomfield.

Chad’s reached 176 batting first, Mark Bailey hitting 33 and Matt Stevens 78 while Rob Nicholls took 4-16 and James Swales 3-35.

Barwick pulled home at 178-4 thanks to tidy efforts by Nick Swales (47) and Matt Prosser (61no).

Meanwhile, over in Division Two, Whixley grabbed a one-wicket win over Crossgates, who they limited to 120 after Martin Lofthouse took 4-24 and Harvey Green 3-31.

Matt Hatherley topscored with 39 for ‘Gates.

Adam Busfield netted 4-31 and Oliver Moxon 3-34 but Whixley edged home at 121-9, Pat Greenwood making 32 and Stewart Witham 37not out.

Danusha Ranasinghe delivered a towering performance with the willow for Scholes, who racked up 314-6 against Thorner.

He crashed 137, with useful contributions from Mike Ford (42) and James Biscombe (77) while Muhammed Ali took 4-82.

Thorner were ousted for 131 in reply, Mark Sirrell capturing 5-30 and James Penn hitting 34.

Saxton beat Garforth PC, reaching 119 batting first against the bowling of Darren Childe (3-26) and Andy Conboy (4-20).

Dan Hewer took 5-17 to limit Garforth to 72 all out in reply.

Kirk Hammerton won a high-scoring game with Hillam and Monk Fryston.

They racked up 276-5, largley thanks to a mighty 152 not out from Alex Bramley and 106 not out from Liam Fisher, despite the best efforts of Will Vaks (4-59).

Fisher then took 5-81 to limit Hillam to 245-8, of which Martin Pugh made 100 and Luke Franlakd 56.

East Keswick were took strong for Ledsham, amassing 176-8 via Khalid Ehsan (32no) and Basharat Zaman (45), while Johnny Smales (3-42) achieved the best return.

Andy Barron hit back with 44 and Paul Dewhirst for Ledsham, but they were all out for 146 after Bilal Shahid secured a superb 6-26.

Church Fenton outmuscled South Milford, racking up 259-7 courtesy of a ton by Kendal Edgeley (106) while Rob Peregrine took 3-72.

South Milford closed at 184-8, Stuart Morley posting 54 and Steve Winspear 31 not out.

Edgeley rounded off a fine personal afternoon with a haul of 5-51.

Division Three: Thorner Mexborough A 109ao Long Marston 111-3; St Chad’s A 241-8 Headingley Bramhope 149ao; Green Hammerton 96ao Great Preston A 101-6; Amaranth 114-6 Sherburn Eversley 101-6; KirkDeighton A 165-5 Scarcroft A 162-7; Rufforth 175-9 Bilton in Ainsty A 29ao

Division Four: St Chad’s B 96-2 Barwick A 90ao; South Milford A 91ao Wetherby A 94ao; Shadwell A 100ao Meanwood 210-4; Old Mods A v Old Leos A conceded by Old Leos A; Garforth PC A 170-4 Saxton A 166ao; Long Marston A 67ao Headingley Bramhope A 68-3.

Division Five: Wighill Park 113-9 Church Fenton 112ao; Headingley Bramhope B 84ao Whixley A 87-8; Kippax Welfare 147ao East Keswick A 183-9; Sherburn Eversley A 125-9 Hillam A 162-4; Gledhow 160ao Sicklinghall A 68-8

Division Six: Crossgates A 68-9 Scholes A 69-6; Meanwood A 263-7 Green Hammerton A 191ao; Kirk Hammerton A 168-6 Amaranth A 142ao.

Best Batting

Alex Bramley (Kirk Hammerton) 152no

Danusha Ranasinghe (Scholes) 127

Drew Bligh-Dobson (Meanwood A) 131no

Paul Harker (Green Hammerton a) 114

Liam Fisher (Kirk Hammerton) 106no

Kendal Edgeley (Church Fenton) 106

Dhaval Shah (East Keswick A) 106no

Martin Pugh (Hillam and MF) 100

Best Bowling

Cameron Sanderson (Rufforth) 6-15

John Barber (East Keswick A) 6-23

Bilah Shahid (East Keswick) 6-26

Bou Phillips (Scholes A) 6-27