Nine-wicket win sees Spofforth crowned 2013 league champions

hsb. Spofforth bowler Ian Giddings in action at the Old Mods match. 090421ARpic2.
hsb. Spofforth bowler Ian Giddings in action at the Old Mods match. 090421ARpic2.

Spofforth were crowned 2013 Theakston Nidderdale League champions on Saturday, Tom Clark’s troops clinching the silverware over Ouseburn by virtue of one point.

The School Lane side travelled away to relegated Darley for their final game of the year, where Ian Giddings plundered 4-14 and Simon Old 3-15 to oust the hosts for just 56.

James Roberts’ unbeaten 30 helped Spofforth to the six points required and a first Nidderdale League title at 57-1.

Ouseburn, who beat Spofforth in the Atkinson Swires Cup final, finished runners-up, signing off with a thumping of Goldsborough on Saturday.

A towering ton from Sam Dale (107) plus 93 by Jamie Bryant steered Ouseburn to 257-5 batting first.

Chris Morrison (3-20) and Ben Kettlewell (3-21) had Goldsborough all out for 118 in reply.

Masham drop back in Division Two, beaten by Alne on Saturday.

Chris Beaumont’s hefty 97 laid the foundations for Alne to reach 188-6, and though Adam Smith hit 41 in reply, Masham were all out for 170.

Blubberhouses finish third, winners over ninth-placed Bishop Thornton on Saturday.

John Wilkinson crashed 109 and Bill David 50 to see Blubbs to 284, Josh Chandler collecting 4-44.

Adam Collett captured a superb 6-33 to limit Thornton to 217 in reply, Matty Bell topscoring with 68.

Killinghall’s young guns finish fourth, eight-wicket winners over Dacre Banks.

Steve Lawrence (43) and Will Rasheed (59) batted Dacre to 184-6, but Nick Richardson’s ton (112no) set the tone for Killinghall success at 185-2.

Seventh-placed Hampsthwaite lost out to Helperby, who finish in fifth.

Hamp’ were bowled out for 130 through Dan Marston (5-30) and Alistair Darnell (3-30).

Dan Spink (53) led Helperby past T Foster’s 4-30 for a win at 132-8.

Over in Division Two, promoted champions Pannal were unable to play the last match of the season against Pateley Bridge as their ground was declared unfit.

Burton Leonard are promoted alongside them however, and they signed off with a hefty win over Galphay and Winksley.

James Townsend (51) and Tom Rowlay (40) batted Burton to 253-9, against the bowling of Matt Thomas (4-56).

Galphay were all out for 161 in reply.

Birstwith finish third, having crushed relegated Bolton Abbey by 252 runs.

J Millward (34), T Croston (63), J Riley (54), P Hardisty (64), C Armitage (31) and P Armitage (33) saw Birstwith amass a huge 350-6.

P Hardisty (4-22) and G Hirst (3-21) skittled Abbey for 98 in reply.

Sharow are also relegated, beaten by Knaresborough Forest, who finished just above the dropzone.

Andy Lee (5-21) and Alan Coote (5-35) were the chief destroyers, limiting Sharow to 68 batting first.

Nick Jones (37) and Oli Cullingworth (26no) led Forest into the clear at 71-1.

West Tanfield overcame Newby Hall by three runs, reaching 234-6 through Sam Abel (43), Adam Hodgkinson (59no) and Harry Glatman (52).

Newby were so close at 231 through Jim Blackburn (34), Grant Leivers (31) and Dave Wallis (49) but John Luty’s 5-40 kept them at bay.

Ripley beat Studley Royal by 64 runs, achieving 234-5 including 87 by Ian Robinson and 57 by Josh Waldron.

Rob Batch crashed 113 for the Royals in reply, but Ian Taylor’s terrific 6-45 pegged them back at 170-9.

Elsewhere, Harrogate Strays and Scotton are promoted from Division Three, while Killinghall 2nds and Ouseburn 2nds drop down.

In Division Four, Ripon 2nds and Lofthouse & Middlesmoor are both promoted, but Newby Hall 2nds and Pannal Ash are relegated.

Wath & Melmerby and South Kilvington make the jump up from Division Five, while Sharow 2nds and Spofforth 2nds drop into Division Six.

Helperby 2nds and Spennithorne & Harmby are promoted to Division Five, while Raskelf 2nds and Darley 2nds are relegated.

Arthington 2nds and Middleham 2nds are promoted from Division Seven while Birstwith 3rds and Ouseburn 3rds will be playing Division Eight next year.

Ripley 3rds and Hampsthwaite 3rds finished first and second in Division Eight, while Little Ribston 2nds and Killinghall 3rds finish bottom of the division.

Arthington 2nds made it a double title win for their club as they win Division Nine, while Thirsk 3rds finish runners-up.

Division Three: *Markington 282-5, Ouseburn 118; Hampsthwaite : 104, Raskelf 74; Harrogate Strays 204-9, Masham 45 AO; Killinghall 127, *Burnt Yates 128-3; Pannal 127-6, Kirkby Malzeard 128-2; Rainton 108 , Scotton 114-4;

Division Four: Alne 79 * Newby Hall 84-3; Birstwith 2 105-10 *Studley Royal 3 80-10; Newby Hall 85-3 Alne 79; Pannal Ash 120 Burton Leonard 125-0; Ripon 2 nds 257-6 v Middleham 66; Staveley 134, *Bishop Monkton 135-3; Thornton-le-Moor 197-6 Lofthouse & Middlesmoor 186 ;

Division Five: *South Kilvington 193 ,Thornton Watlass137-6; *Pateley Bridge 326, Blubberhouses 192; Crakehall 229-6, Ripley 2nd 226 ; North Stainley 140-10, watch &Melmerby 100 ; Sharow 179-7, *Goldsborough 182-6; Spofforth 165, *Harrogate 91;

Division Six: *Bishop Thornton 284-7 Glasshouses 232;; *Bishop Thornton 284-7, Glasshouses 232-7; *Bolton Abbey 186-7,Pannal 187-5; *Darley 108, Sessay 111-9; *Spennithorne and Harmby 67-4 Little Ribston 66 ; Kfcc 222-9 Borobridge 193-9; Raskelf 167, Helperby 206-5;

Division Seven: *Birstwith 137, Middleham 138-5; *Marton cum Grafton 175-8, Ouseburn 111: ; *Scotton 125-7 Rainton 58 ; *Thirsk 138-9, Dacre Banks 122ao; Arthington 117-1, Newton-Le-Willows 116; Marton 175(Neil Newlove 4, 25 off 10) Ouseburn 108(Neil Newlove 78, Will Moss 3, 37 off 12) Martin win ; Studley Royal 174 ao, Pannal 124-9 ;

Division Eight: Helperby 191-7(M Poulter 59-u15) Hampswaite 107(D Jesper 63, R Wade 5-20); *Killinghall 3rd Xl 104, Bedale 105-1; Burnt Yates 205-8, North Stainley 147; Staveley 82 (N Coates 37 M Tuley 4-11 P Gill 3-17) urton Leonard 83-5 J Hutchinson 26no; Kbro Forest 252-5 W Tanfield 179-8; Ripley 156-ao, Little Ribston *133-7;