Nidderdale League: Spofforth down Ouseburn as Helperby rise to the table zenith

NAWN 1405033AM Spofforth CC V Ouseburn CC.  Ouseburn's Stuart Horton. (1405033AM)
NAWN 1405033AM Spofforth CC V Ouseburn CC. Ouseburn's Stuart Horton. (1405033AM)

In Saturday’s battle of the 2013 titans, it was Spofforth who emerged victorious against Ouseburn to the tune of eight wickets.

Ouseburn were bowled out for 89 batting first, Jonathan Ross the pick of the Spofforth attack with 3-21.

In reply, Aussie Will Long led the charge, topscoring with 45 not out, supported by James Roberts (23) as Spoff’ eased home at 93-2.

Meanwhile, Helperby topped the Division One standings, beating Bishop Thornton by five wickets.

A Chouhan (4-24) and Alistair Darnell (4-12) bowled Thornton out for 87, Chouhan then topscoring with 29 as Helperby pulled clear at 89-5.

Dacre Banks were felled by Alne, reaching 131 with the bat.

W Rasheed made 30 and W Aslam 48, while SJ Morley took 4-54.

P Carr then topscored with 46 to steer Alne to victory at 134-6, L Vincent adding 29.

Hampsthwaite edged out Burton Leonard by the narrowest of gaps, one run.

Having won the toss and elected to bat, Hamp reached 208-8 through Lenny McKittrick (39), A Taylor (46) and Andy Johnson (36).

Burton rose valiantly to the challenge that had been set , Dan Thirkell (30), Matt Rangeley (32) and S Crompton (78no) taking them to an agonisingly close 207-6.

Blubberhouses battered Goldsborough by 98 runs, powering to 186 all out through R Vass (37no), J Wilkinson (28) and L Platts (25).

D James (4-23) and Luke Forge (4-43) were the pick of the Goldsborough bowlers, but their batsmen collapsed in reply, as I Khan (3-21) and N Brown (3-8) reduced Goldsborough to 88 all out.

Pannal dispatched the young guns of Killinghall by seven wickets.

S Williams (30), A Crawfurd-Porter (35) and D Atkinson (63) fired Killinghall to 203-8 batting first, while M Henry plundered 4-36.

But Pannal knocked them off with ease, Andrew Brigden Guthrie (60no), R Ellis (45) and A Ellis (33) steering them to 205-3.

Over in Division Two, Darley edged Ripley by 17 runs.

D Bird (47) and D Naylor (25) batted Darley to 91 all out, against the bowling of R Canham (3-22) and B Brown (4-12).

Ripley found it hard going against the force of J Furniss, whose 6-12 ensured they were all out for 74.

Birstwith hammered Galphay by nine wickets, A Mason (35) and J Rowe (33) the mainstays of their 122 all out while P Hardisty mustered 5-47 and A Heard (3-15).

But J Millward (81no) ensured Birstwith knocked them off with little trouble at 128-1.

Masham outmuscled Scotton, reaching 17-9 batting first through I Tomlin (46) and A Sturdy (28) while T Miles scooped 4-39.

Scotton were held at 133-9 in reply, after D Chapman bagged 4-19 and G Sharples 4-24.

Newby Hall beat Pateley Bridge, amassing 163-8 thanks to steady efforts by Grant Leivers (41) and Andy Robinson (51no).

T Simpson collected 5-38 and J Thompson 3-29, but Pateley were bowled out for 136 in reply, D Spence topscoring with 47.

Grant Leivers was the chief destroyer with 5-24 with Dan Herron scooping 3-25.

Studley Royal were felled by Knaresborough Forest, posting 113-9 with C Hill (54) topscoring.

N Jones plundered a hefty 6-33, before Forest eased home at 115-3.

Harrogate 3rds kept West Tanfield at bay, racking up 173 all out before Tanfield closed 10 runs short at 163.

Other results Division Three: Burnt Yates 140-9 Masham 126-10; Kirkby Malzeard 115-3 Bolton Abbey 114-9; Hampsthwaite 103-10 Pannal 2nds 138-10; Markington 160-8 Sharow 163-1; Lofthouse and M’moor 127-10 Rainton 128-3; Ripon 147-5 Ripon 0-0

Division Four: Middleham 167-8 Alne 2nds 131-10; South Kilvington 202-6 Studley Royal 3rds 71-10; Burton Leonard 2nds 159-10 Ouseburn 2nds 162-4; Bishop Monkton 142-10 Birstwith 2nds 143-8; Thornton le Moor 187-7 Wath and Melmerby 188-4

Division Five: Pateley Bridge 2nds 160-10 Ripley 2nds 69-10; Crakehall 186-7 Goldsborough 2nds 143-9; Harrogate 4ths 245-7 Pannal Ash 123-6; Helperby 2nds 168-7 Blubberhouses 2nds 80-10; Spennithorne and Harmby 70-8 Newby Hall 74-3; North Stainley 151-9 Thornton Watlass 139-10

Division Six: Spofforth 95-9 Arthington 97-2; Bolton Abbey 123-10 Sessay 3rds 124-0; Boroughbridge 161-0 Little Ribston 160-10; Glasshouses 114-1 Bishop Thornton 2nds 112-9; Knaresborough Forest 2nds 99-0 Middleham 2nds 97-10; Pannal 3rds 111-10 Sharow 2nds 112-4

Division Seven: Dacre Banks 85-10 Rainton 2nds 87-1; Newton le Willows 189-8 Hampsthwaite 3rds 75-10; Raskelf 2nds 0-0 Darley2nds 0-0 - bye; Ripley 3rds 97-5 Thirsk 2nds 95-9; Scotton 2nds 195-5 Marton cum Grafton 138-8; Studley Royal 4ths Pannal 4ths - bye

Division Eight: Birstwith 3rds 159-9 Burnt Yates 161-5; Ouseburn 147-8 Helperby 3rds 145-10; Knaresborough Forest 3rds 47-3 Burton Leonard 3rds 45-10; Knaresborough Forest 3rds 47-3 Burton Leonard 3rds 45-10; North Stainley 2nds 105-10 West Tanfield 2nds 214-5; Staveley 2nds 186-6 Bedale 2nds 96-8; Thirsk 3rds 84-10 Arthington 86-10.

Division Nine: Beckwithshaw 3rds 74-10 Ripon 3rds 100-9; Galphay v Ripley 4ths bye; Little Ribston v Killinghall 3rds bye; Wath and Melmerby 2nds 47-10 Newby Hall 3rds 51-2.