Nidderdale League: Ouseburn edge closer to history books as Newby Hall benefit from rain

hsb  Steve Lawrence bowling for Dacre Banks against Goldsborough.  (130511M4d)
hsb Steve Lawrence bowling for Dacre Banks against Goldsborough. (130511M4d)

Heavy mid-afternoon showers decimated Saturday’s play across the Nidderdale Leagues but Ouseburn evaded the downpours to continue their flurry of victories.

Captain Chris Morrison (4-19) inspired his troops from the start as he whittled away Killinghall’s top order.

David Cummings then put the skids under Killinghall’s tailenders with four wickets in 3.2 overs to bowl Killie out for just 79.

Sam Parker (46) and Cummings (24no) eased the Division One leaders to victory by nine wickets.

Pannal, five points below Ouseburn, kept the pressure tight with a tantalising two-wicket triumph over Burton Leonard.

Leonard totalled 212-7 in a rain-reduced 36 overs, thanks to Neil Blaken’s 70. But Pannal stole victory with just two balls and two batsmen spare with the help of Andy Ellis’ 77-ball 65 from the top of the order.

Goldsborough were plunged into the relegation mire after Dacre Banks leapfrogged them in the battle for second bottom.

Legendary batsman Damon Ive’s strong form continued with a 72-ball 62, as Borough posted 200-5 from 45 overs.

Banks were in trouble in their chase at 137-6 but a 67-run seventh wicket partnership between M Nabeel (39) and Stephen Butler (33no) clinched an unlikely victory

Helperby’s hopes of a historic title were dashed by the rainfall at home to Alne, with the visitors stopped in their tracks at 32-1.

Bishop Thornton had made 91-2 in their chase to a target of 201 at Blubberhouses when the rain called a halt to proceedings.

Sajid Khan made his first century of the summer to score exactly half of Blubbs’ runs as Jack Kellett took three wickets and a run-out.

The rain also claimed the victim of reigning champions Spofforth in their trip to Hampsthwaite, without a ball being bowled.

Newby Hall zoomed into the lead in the Division Two promotion race as their main rivals were left ruing the weather.

Newby managed to overhaul Knaresborough Forest’s 147-8, inside 30 overs to grab maximum points.

Nick Horsman fell three runs short of a patient half-century for Forest as contributions from Nick Jones (30) and Matt Clapperton (38) had set the hosts up for a massive score.

But, Forest fell from 131-2 to 147-8 in the final overs of their rain-reduced innings, with Grant Leivers taking 5-20 from his economic 12 overs.

All-rounder Leivers then capped a special day as he hit one six and nine fours to record an 83-ball 56 in his side’s successful chase.

Dave Wallis also cleared the ropes twice in his 26.

Newby were the only side to gain a win across the division as they moved above Birstwith and Darley in the hunt for Division One action next year.

Darley had Pateley Bridge on the ropes at 90-7 on Saturday when the rain arrived, after setting 122-9 in their opening knock.

Galphay and Winksley made 10-1 against Harrogate and West Tanfield 7-1 at Scotton when rain ruined any hopes of play.

Ripley’s clash against second bottom Studley Royal seconds, and Birstwith’s home match against Masham were washed away without a ball being delivered.

As the league nears its conclusion, the battles for individual honours are taking shape.

Killinghall’s Damien Lawrence is a clear front-runner to take the Division One batting trophy after amassing 758 runs this summer.

Helperby’s overseas star Atish Chouhan, who leads the league’s most valuable player standings, is Lawrence’s closest rival with 442, with Pannal opening batsman Rob Ellis on 429 runs.

Andrew Taylor is the only other top tier batsman to have passed 400 runs.

Top all-rounder Chouhan leads the wicket tables having taken 25 scalps, with Hampsthwaite’s Alex Durie just one behind.

Chris Morrison (22), Sam Crompton (20), Andy Ellis (20) and Josh Cutts (20) will all fancy their chances of collecting a trophy at the end of season awards.

In Division Two, Ian Robinson (439) and James Riley (427) are the leading batsmen. Joe Furniss is three wickets in front of Derek Chapman in the wicket standings, despite playing one fewer game.


Division One: Helperby 0-0 abandoned with Alne 32-1; Blubberhouses 200-10 abandoned with Bishop Thornton 91-2; Ouseburn 82-1 bt Killinghall 79-19; Dacre Banks 204-6 bt Goldsborough 200-5 ; Pannal 213-8 bt Burton Leonard 212-7; Hampsthwaite 0-0 abandoned with Spofforth 0-0

Division Two: Newby Hall 148-5 bt Knaresborough Forest 147-8; Birstwith 0-0 abandoned with Masham 0-0; Ripley 0-0 abandoned with Studley Royal 0-0; Galphay and Winksley 10-1 abandoned with Harrogate 0-0; Scotton 0-0 abandoned with West Tanfield 7-1; Pateley Bridge 90-7 abandoned with Darley 122-9.

Division Three: Masham 0-0 abandoned with Raskelf 10-0; Ripon 198-5 bt Bolton Abbey 197-8; Burnt Yates 0-0 abandoned with Kirkby Malzeard 0-0 ; Lofthouse and Middlesmoor 0-0 abandoned with Hampsthwaite 0-0; Sharow 230-4 bt Rainton 169-9 (38.0 overs); Markington 264-6 (33.0 overs) abandoned with Pannal 149-6 (30.0 overs)

Division Four: Killinghall 140-9 (30.0 overs) bt Ouseburn 104-8 (30.0 overs); Alne abandoned with Bishop Monkton 43-0 (13.0 overs); Staveley 0-0 abandoned with Thornton-le-Moor 0-0 ; South Kilvington 0-0 abandoned with Middleham CC 64-1 (15.0 overs); Studley Royal 0-0 abandoned with Birstwith 25-1 (6.0 overs); Burton Leonard 142-4 (26.1 overs) bt Wath and Melmerby 139-7 (28.0 overs)

Division Five: Pannal Ash 0-0 abandoned with Blubberhouses 0-0 ; Harrogate 0-0 abandoned with Goldsborough 0-0 ; Thornton Watlass 13-1 (5.1 overs) abandoned with Newby Hall ; Crakehall 0-0 abandoned with Helperby 33-0 (9.4 overs); Spennithorne and Harmby 0-0 abandoned with Ripley 0-0 ; North Stainley 181-1 (22.0 overs) bt Pateley Bridge 123-6 (22.0 overs)

Division Six: Glasshouses 0-0 bye with Boroughbridge 0-0 ; Spofforth 185-2 (35.5 overs) bt Bolton Abbey 184-8 (42.0 overs); Little Ribston 249-9 bt Pannal 102-10 (31.0 overs); Middleham CC 185-6 (34.0 overs) bt Sessay 85-9 (21.4 overs); Bishop Thornton 168-9 (32.0 overs) bt Sharow 113-10 (25.5 overs); Arthington 128-2 (17.0 overs) bt Knaresborough Forest 127-5 (41.0 overs)

Division Seven: Hampsthwaite 0-0 abandoned with Scotton 0-0 ; Rainton 0-0 abandoned with Marton-cum-Grafton 114-3 (25.0 overs); Raskelf 69-1 (15.5 overs) bt Studley Royal 67-9 (36.0 overs); Dacre Banks 0-0 abandoned with Newton-le-Willows 0-0 ; Darley 0-0 abandoned with Thirsk 0-0 ; Pannal 0-0 abandoned with Ripley 0-0

Division Eight: Ouseburn abandoned with Knaresborough Forest 23-1 (9.2 overs); West Tanfield 0-0 abandoned with Staveley 12-1 (11.0 overs); Burton Leonard 0-0 abandoned with Birstwith 15-0 (4.2 overs); Helperby 15-1 (7.5 overs) abandoned with Burnt Yates 0-0 ; Arthington abandoned with Bedale ; Thirsk 0-0 abandoned with North Stainley 65-8 (22.0 overs)

Division Nine: Ripley 159-9 (30.2 overs) bt Ripon 158-4 (37.0 overs); Studley Royal 0-0 bye with Beckwithshaw 0-0; Newby Hall 104-2 (23.4 overs) bt Little Ribston 103-8 (33.4 overs)