Nidderdale League: Ouseburn back to Division One pinnacle

hsb  Tom Parker batting for Ouseburn against Goldsborough.  (130706M3d)
hsb Tom Parker batting for Ouseburn against Goldsborough. (130706M3d)

It was a day for the batsmen in the Nidderdale League as boundaries flurried across the top division.

Ouseburn took over the top spot with a strong all-round performance at Alne.

S Parker (61) and D Cummins (53) both received the adulation of teammates with half centuries as the leaders amassed 232-9 from their 45 overs.

Alne were soon in trouble in their chase after seeing their top order ripped apart. However, opener L Vincent (47) steadied the ship before M Bolton smacked 75 to drag his side up to a losing mark of 183-9.

Former leaders Pannal crashed to a two-wicket defeat at Bishop Thornton in a thrilling match decided with one ball to spare.

Rob Ellis hit a steady 59 before captain John Strover added a run-a-ball 58 in Pannal’s 220-9.

C Baldwin led the Bishops’ chase with 83, while S Brennand’s 49 was much more patient at the other end.

It was left for J Dixon (15no) and D Harris (11no) to steal victory from the final deliveries. G Fish took 4-40 in Pannal’s unsuccessful defence.

With Pannal losing, third-placed Helperby were able to claw within four points with a win against reigning champions Spofforth.

Will Long (64) and P Gannon (73) shared a century opening stand for Spofforth, who made 238-4.

But, the Helperby batsmen also took a liking to the surface and Luiz Rees-Hughes’ century led the chase.

Rees-Hughes hit 17 boundaries in his unbeaten 112, as he partnered fellow opener A Chouhan (55) and later Rob McKenzie (31) in big partnerships to claim a five-wicket triumph.

Spofforth have endured a mixed campaign so far, and they lie seventh on 30 points.

Ten points above the current holders, Hampsthwaite failed to move into the title mix as Blubberhouses completed an epic chase on their home track.

Hampsthwaite had amounted 265 from their 45 overs, with skipper P Taylor (112) hitting 20 fours and two sixes in his century.

S Khan and B Khan both took three scalps for Blubbs.

The hosts were thankful to L Platts’ six-hitting antics for the triumph after finding themseleves in trouble at 67-4 in the chase.

Platts hit an unbeaten 101, alongside J Wilkinson (43) and B Davis (40) to claim an unexpected victory with more than 20 deliveries to come.

Killinghall made the highest total on the day of runscoring as two players passed centuries against Dacre Banks.

Having fallen to 7-2, D Lawrence and S Williams (100no) went further than rescuing the situation to put on a stand of 199. Lawrence fell for 109, but M Williams’ 42 continued to pump runs around the ground as Killinghall made 295-7. In reply, second-bottom Dacre collapsed to 39-4 before M Nabeel’s 88 lifted them to 220-8 at the close of innings, J Cutts taking 4-42.

Burton Leonard overpowered Goldsborough to move clear of the threat of relegation with a 28-run win.

The runs were shared around in Burton Leonard’s innings of 218-8, with M Rangeley (30no) topscoring and M Cockle taking 4-53.

D Ive gave Goldsborough hope of an unlikely victory with an 101-ball 89 but early wickets had already cost the hosts as they ended on 190-8, S Crompton taking 4-51.

In Division Two, basement boys Galphay and Winksley provided the shock of the weekend by toppling Darley from their perch.

Galphay produced a stunning display to bowl the former leaders out for just 69, before racing to victory and enjoying an early afternoon finish in just 15 overs.

Leaders Birstwith also had a short match as they powered on in their aim to reach the top tier next season.

They climbed above Darley with a simple 10-wicket demolition of Ripley. Ripley were bowled out for 95 in just 23.2 overs, D Riley taking 5-52,

Birstwith openers J Millaward (61no) and T Croston (26no) collected victory in just 13.2 overs.

Newby Hall will have been delighted to hear about Darley’s slip up as they moved alongside their rivals on 42 points with a four-wicket triumph over Harrogate 3rds.

Struggling Harrogate totalled 175-9 before Newby Hall’s Craig Griffin hit 57 not out in their successful chase.

Knaresborough Forest again showed they were a force to be reckoned with as they overpowered sixth-placed West Tanfield.

Forest bowled Tanfield out for only 136 before N Jones’ 59 not out clinched the glory by six wickets.

Meanwhile, Pateley Bridge had a fruitful day batting first at home to Masham as they scored 225-5, before bowling the visitors out for 148.

Second-bottom Studley Royal 2nds had a useful victory over Scotton in their relegation fight as they chased down 122, with four wickets and nine overs spare.

Division Three - Lofthouse and Middlesmoor 262/5 bt Ripon 143/10; Pannal 177/9 bt Masham 169/10; Rainton 240/8 bt Burnt Yates 239/7 ; Raskelf 136/1 bt Hampsthwaite 135/9 ; Bolton Abbey 126/2 bt Sharow 123/8 ; Markington 247/3 bt Kirkby Malzeard 110/10.

Division Four - South Kilvington 373/4 bt Killinghall 92/10; Alne 186/4 bt Ouseburn 183/10; Bishop Monkton 99/1 bt Staveley 98/10 ; Birstwith 146/9 bt Thornton-le-Moor 143/10; Middleham CC 224/6 bt Burton Leonard 222/9 ; Wath and Melmerby 202/4 bt Studley Royal 200/7

Division Five - Pateley Bridge 146/0 bt Pannal Ash 145/10; Spennithorne and Harmby 247/7 bt Helperby 109/10; Thornton Watlass 142/8 bt Crakehall 141/10; Newby Hall 327/4 bt Harrogate 152/10 ; Goldsborough 197/10 bt North Stainley 129/10; Blubberhouses 225/6 bt Ripley 175/7

Division Six - Sessay 145/6 bt Bishop Thornton 144/9; Sharow 149/5 bt Bolton Abbey 147/9 ; Pannal 105/10 bt Spofforth 104/10; Little Ribston 201/5 bt Knaresborough Forest 200/9 ; Boroughbridge 144/6 bt Middleham CC 140/10; Glasshouses 233/5 bt Arthington 232/8

Division Seven - Raskelf 159/7 bt Hampsthwaite 102/8; Thirsk 84/4 bt Rainton 81/10 ; Marton-cum-Grafton 180/6 bt Ripley 176/10; Scotton 119/10 bt Pannal 106/10; Newton-le-Willows 195/1bt Darley 194/6 ; Studley Royal 86/9 bt Dacre Banks 85/10

Division Eight - Staveley 228/8 bt Burton Leonard 143/9; North Stainley 182/3 bt Helperby 181/9 ; Knaresborough Forest 73/1 bt Thirsk 70/10; Bedale 212/9 bt Birstwith 202/10 ; Ouseburn 224/7 bt West Tanfield 123/7; Burnt Yates 154/7 bt Arthington 142/9

Division Nine - Beckwithshaw 226/8 bt Wath and Melmerby 180/9; Ripon 107/4 bt Little Ribston 106/7