Theakston Nidderdale League: Champions Ouseburn stunned by new boys on opening day

Australian batsman Jarrod McPhee was in fine form with the willow in hand as Goldsborough beat Birstwith on the opening weekend of the 2018 TNL season. Picture: Adrian Murray
Australian batsman Jarrod McPhee was in fine form with the willow in hand as Goldsborough beat Birstwith on the opening weekend of the 2018 TNL season. Picture: Adrian Murray

Reigning Theakston Nidderdale League champions Ouseburn were upset by newly-promoted Dacre Banks on the opening day of the 2018 season.

Ben Mackrill (24) was the only home player to make any kind of an impression with the bat as Waqas Rasheed (3-23) and Zain Ul-Abdin (3-26) caused all sorts of problems for the title-holders.

Ouseburn were dismissed with just 109 on the board, yet their bowlers almost dug them out of a hole, reducing Banks to 52/5 in in reply.

Jamie Bryant (3-39), Jamie Bullivant (2-7) and Chris Morrison (2-14) all impressed, however an unbeaten 29 from Stephen Ellison eventually saw the underdogs edge over the line in the final over with two wickets in hand.

Wath & Melmerby also made a strong start to life in the top flight, seeing off Bishop Thornton by an eight-wicket margin.

Andrew Hyland top-scored with 43 in the Curlews’ 128 all out, Nigel Kenyon snapping up 4-25 for 2017’s second division champions Wath.

Dan Harris then took centre stage, plundering an unbeaten 94 from 76 deliveries, but just missing out on ton as his side made it to 129/2 in under 25 overs.

A fine knock from Jarrod McPhee paved the way for Goldsborough’s comfortable home win over Birstwith.

The Australian opener hit 84, sharing a 90-run first-wicket partnership with captain Damon Ive (49) as the home side got off to a flying start.

They did lose their way somewhat, slumping from 117/2 and then 156/4 to 193 all out as Sam Barker claimed 4-15, however their total proved to be more than sufficient in the end.

Opening pair James Riley (27) and Tom Croston (24) made starts at the top of the Birstwith reply, but they fell well short in the end, eventually sent on their way for 112.

David James was the pick of the ‘Borough attack, returning 3-8, while Henry Saul, Kevin Wilks and Graham Shorter all scooped a brace of scalps apiece.

Ben Fielding wreaked havoc with the ball as last season’s runners-up Masham demolished Knaresborough Forest.

The big paceman helped himself to 5-49 to help skittle the men from the Calcutt Oval for the meagre total of 86 inside 27 overs.

Kieran Bramley also impressed with 3-7, while Joe Stanley’s 21 not out was the highlight of Forest’s afternoon.

An unbeaten 43 from Aussie import Brodie Eccles then saw Masham to victory at 88/2.

Jordan King hit a half-century to fire Darley to success on the road at West Tanfield.

King made 89 of his team’s 181/9, overseas ace Scott King also chipping in with a useful innings of 33 despite three-wickets each for Nick Virr and Angus Shaw.

Tanfield’s response never really got going and although Jonny Luty contributed 31 and Shaw added 29, they had no answer to Ross Sands (5-29) and Joe Furniss (3-18).

Only two fixtures survived the wet weather in Division Two, but Kirk Deighton showed their pedigree on their Nidderdale League debut, racking up a total of 278/9 away at Alne.

The newcomers, Wetherby Cricket League champions in 2017, wasted no time in making an impression as Henry Blythe’s 89 not out set the tone.

Simon Dwyer (44), Jon Watkins (42) and Matt Wall (42) also looked in good touch for Deighton, Tony Raper doing his best to check their progress with 3-76.

Alex Buteux smashed a number of boundaries in his knock of 55 in reply, but Alne were sent back to the pavilion well short of their target on 167.

Skipper Richard Ward picked up a five-wicket haul and Watkins completed a good all-round showing with 3-35.

Elsewhere, 69 from Barry Milburn and Matt Goddard’s 45 set up Raskelf for a crushing success over Markington.

The hosts posted 176/4 from their 45 overs then bundled their visitors out 112 runs shy on 64 thanks to some excellent bowling by Lindon Giuffrida (5-15) and Robert Sigsworth (3-0).