Harrogate teenager Katie Thompson selected in 15-strong Yorkshire Diamonds squad

Katie Thompson, 19,
Katie Thompson, 19,

Harrogate cricketer Katie Thompson has been included in the inaugural Yorkshire Diamonds squad for the Kia Super League.

The former St Aidan's School pupil features in a squad of 15 players which includes four England women, three overseas and two England Women's Academy players.

Thompson played her first full summer with the county first team squad last year after finishing her school education.

Yorkshire are one of six teams to form the newly-branded Super League.

Tthe six teams take part in a round-robin Twenty20 (T20) competition over a 16 day period from July 30 to August 14, with a finals day on Sunday August 21 at the Essex County Ground, Chelmsford.

Yorkshire have recruited Australian pair Beth Mooney and Alex Blackwell and Shabnim Ismail from South Africa as their three overseas players.

2005 Women’s Ashes winner Laura Spragg and Katie Levick, the country’s leading wicket-taker in the Women’s County Championship from last season, are also in the squad.

Yorkshire Diamonds head coach Richard Pyrah said: “I’m delighted with the squad we have assembled. We have the perfect blend of experience and youth that will challenge for honours in the foundation season of the Kia Super League.

“The Yorkshire Cricket family have embraced the concept and we are looking forward to entertaining the public and ultimately winning matches, when we get under way on July 30.

“This is a great time to be part of the development of women’s cricket in this country. The competition is going to be a great success with the best talent joining us in the country and across the globe.”

Yorkshire Diamonds: Hollie Armitage (Yorkshire & England Academy); Alex Blackwell (New South Wales & Australia); Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire & England); Steph Butler (Staffordshire & England Academy); Alice Davidson Richards (Kent); Teresa Graves (Yorkshire); Jenny Gunn (Warwickshire & England); Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire & England); Shabnim Ismail (Western Province & South Africa); Katie Levick (Yorkshire); Beth Mooney (Queensland & Australia); Anna Nicholls (Middlesex); Laura Spragg (Yorkshire); Katie Thompson (Yorkshire); Lauren Winfield - captain (Yorkshire and England)