Athletics: Ripon siblings shine at Lightwater Valley 10k

editorial image

Brother and sister Reece and Chloe Dalton had a busy but rewarding weekend as their athletics careers continue to prosper.

On Saturday, both Ripon Runners junior members represented North Yorkshire at the English Schools Cross Country Championship at Witton Park in Blackburn.

Chloe competed over a 3.7km distance and came second out of the Yorkshire runners. Her time of 12 minutes 47 seconds put her 130th in the country.

Over a 5.5km long course, Reece finished seventh of the Yorkshire athletes and 138th overall in 20.14.

The following day the non-stop duo competed at the Lightwater Valley 10k and 3k Races just a few miles from home.

Chloe started off a winning day by being first girl in 3k race.

She then watched her brother conquer the whole field of the main 10k race by finishing first in 34 minutes 40 seconds, a new personal best.

Runners of all ages gathered to enter the fifth Lightwater Valley Challenge, to raise funds for Jenny Urwin Trust, North Stainley School and Ripon Grammar School.

The popular 10k race welcomed more than 250 competitors to the theme park.

At the front of the field, Reece finished more than a minute ahead of Harrogate athlete Barry McGuire (35.52) in second.

Stephen Chaplin made up the rest of the podium seven seconds behind.

Ripon ace Alex Fawcett set a season’s best of 37.05 in sixth, two places ahead of Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers athlete Cameron Choules.

Thirteen Bedale and Aiskew Runners lined up at the start with some running their first races for the club.

Club champion Nick Norris kept pace with the leading group to break the 40 minute barrier, and finish 13th in a time of 39.51.

Former club champion, Paul Ellis, was in close pursuit to finish 21st in a time of 41.37.

Meanwhile Ripon Runner Donna Riddler, auntie to Reece and Chloe, continued a great weekend for the family by running at the hilly Spen 20 mile race in Liversedge, West Yorkshire and finishing in two hours 29 minutes 21 seconds.

She once again formed part of the all-conquering trio of Sharon Barlow Hamilton (second female overall in 2:09:09) and Tori Green (thirdrd female overall in 2:10:56) to win another team prize.


Ripon Runners: Sarah Hood (45:36), James Stuart Mills (47:58), Elise Nicholson (48:10), Kim Holden (50:43), Simon McCudden (50:45), Lesley Willoughby (51:26), Jo Hope (51:44), Heather Glegg (51:59), Mel Dutka (56:14), Kelly Wallace (1.03:08),

Knaresborough Stiders: Andrew Robinson (41:29); James Wright (41:44); Derek Calvert (47:23); Andrew Roberts (47:49); Brenda Grant (1.08.21)

Bedale and Aiskew Runners: Paul Ellis (41.29); Will Goldsworthy (43:17); Oliver Lees (46:54); Paul Bainbridge (47:55); Andrew Gibb (48:01) Thomas Hawkswell (49:23); Chris Appleton (50:48); Helen Shields (50:24); Chris Lees (50:58); Amy Hall (51:27); Robert Haw (51:28); Mark Stewart (56:46); Susan Brown (57:00)