Revealed: Harrogate Hospitality and Tourism Awards shortlist

Organisers have announced the shortlist for each of the nine categories in this year's Harrogate Hospitality and Tourism Awards.

Thursday, 5th May 2016, 10:59 am
Updated Thursday, 5th May 2016, 1:01 pm
Harrogate Hospitality awards Harrogate Advertiser

Category sponsors and organisers spent many hours deliberating over the excellent quality of the more than 900 nominations for this year’s awards, which will be presented at a gala dinner at the Royal Hall on June 20.

The awards, now in their eighth year, are organised and hosted by Destination Harrogate, the association of the leading hotels of the town.

David Ritson, chairman of Destination Harrogate, said: “Eight years in to running these awards, it is clear from the number of entries we received again this year that these awards have truly captured the imagination of those working in, or affected by hospitality and tourism, and shows what a major industry it is for the town.

“As the quality of the votes improves we have been keen to go and see these ‘stars’ in action and it is great to see their faces when they realise their hard work has been appreciated.

Harrogate relies heavily on both business and leisure tourism and everyone involved in the chain of visitor service delivery play their part in continuing to deliver the excellent standards of service and hospitality associated with Harrogate.”

Simon Cotton, general manager of the Cedar Court Hotel and vice chairman of Destination Harrogate, said: “The judges were once again impressed by the level and quality of entries this year and it took a lot of deliberating to decide who would make the short list.

“There were a lot of categories where it was really hard to have to leave out some really fantastic entries and I only hope that those who haven’t made it this year to the shortlist will try again next year.

“To ensure we had the best candidates shortlisted several sponsors have been visiting the nominees at their place of work and spending time to see them in action and talk to them about their jobs.

“There is no doubt that the awards night on Monday, June 20, will once again be a quick sell out and continue to build upon the huge success that it has been in the past.”

Tickets for the gala dinner are available by contacting Sian Craig or Linda Bradley on 01423 858585, priced £56 per person.

Demand for tickets is already very high and usually sell out within a few weeks of the shortlist being announced, so organisers advise booking early to avoid disappointment.

Waiter/Waitress of the Year – sponsored by Harrogate Spring Water

Lauren Whittaker – The Wild Plum Coffee shop

Francesca Sims – Deanos graze & grill

Ben Turner – The Yorkshire Meatball Co

Tony Porneala – William & Victorias

Andrew Pollard – Christians

Jamie Hopper – Filmore & Union

Bar Person of the Year – sponsored by Matthew Clark

Josh Molloy – Major Toms Social

Kate Griffin – 10 Devonshire Place

Adam Whiteley – Harrogate Tap

Brandon Chasseur – Royal Baths Champagne Bar

Edi Smith – Monteys Rock Cafe

Chef of the Year – sponsored by Sykes House Farm

Mike Kernall – Michael Kernall Catering

Carlos Sanchez Gonzalez – La Oliva

Dean Sowden – Deanos graze & grill

Whaheed Rojan – The Round Table Dining

Bethany Haresign – The Wild Plum

Ronnie Grimshaw – William & Victorias

Team of the Year – sponsored by Platinum Print

Hales Bar

Harrogate Line Supporters Group

Major Toms Social

The Guy Fawkes Arms

West Park hotel


Newcomer of the Year – sponsored by Harrogate College

Ewan Ritchie – Fodder




Unsung Hero – sponsored by Bidvest Foodservice

Phil Lowe – Harrogate Theatre

Jessica Richardson – Harrogate Turkish Baths

Alan Huddart – Bilton Working Mens Club

Nick Gilson – Rudding Park Hotel Spa & Golf

Joanna Maruszewska – Majestic hotel

Best Achievement of the Year – sponsored by Blueline Taxis

Harrogate International Festivals

Harrogate Line Supporters Group

Harrogate Christmas Market

Anita Bowerman – Dove Tree Studio

Outstanding Customer Service – sponsored by Leeds Bradford International Airport

Simon Hodgson – Yorkshire hotel

Avram Dragos ‘Dee’ – West Park hotel

Maria Devaney – Lilou Fleur

Ashley Nichols – William & Victorias

Sue Oliver – Cedar Court hotel

Harrogate Ambassador - sponsored by Harrogate Chamber of Trade and Commerce

The winner of this special award is to be announced on the night.