Pupils check in for chess event

Last week saw the sixth Harrogate and District Primary Schools Chess Congress take place.

Saturday, 25th March 2017, 3:53 pm
Winners pose with their trophies at the Harrogate and District Primary Schools Chess Congress.

Schools from across the district took part with each child playing a total of five games over a three-hour period.

Prizes were awarded to the top three players in each of the five age sections and all entrants were awarded a certificate and pen.

The Top School/Club Prize, The Trumper Cup, was awarded to the Harrogate Junior Chess Club for the second year running, with the runner-up trophy going to Bilton Grange Primary School.

The results were as follows:

U11s: 1st Max Bailey (Harrogate Junior Chess Club); joint 2nd Samuel Speight (Oatlands Junior School) and Kallum Shaw (Bilton Grange).

U10s: 1st Lucas Moyser (Harrogate Junior Chess Club), joint 2nd Finlay McCreanor (Harrogate Junior Chess Club) and Ollie Poyser-Senior (Harrogate Junior Chess Club).

U9s: 1st Elliot Green (Harrogate Junior Chess Club), joint 2nd Thomas Bentley (Harrogate Junior Chess Club), Archie Lusted (Oatlands Junior School) and Matthew Allinson (Richard Taylor CofE Primary School).

U8s: Joint 1st Edward Evans (Harrogate Junior Chess Club)and Kian Hollingsworth (Oatlands Junior School), 3rd Theo Bell (Harrogate Junior Chess Club).

U7s: 1st Fraser Yang-Turner (Harrogate Junior Chess Club), 2nd Georgia Osborne (Harrogate Junior Chess Club), joint 3rd Vince Ramsey (Bilton Grange) and Spencer Yang-Turner (Harrogate Junior Chess Club).

Lucas Moyser, the only player to win all five games, also won the signed book prize draw.