LIVE: Election results

Tis Harrogate Council Offices on Crescent Gardens.(1401045c)
Tis Harrogate Council Offices on Crescent Gardens.(1401045c)

AFTER voting took place on Thursday, the count of votes for elections to Harrogate Borough Council is due to take place this morning.

Advertiser reporter Rick Burin is at Harrogate International Centre all day to bring readers the latest results and the views of those involved.

The count got under way at around 9.30am and the time of the first results will depend on the number of votes to be counted.

For the latest news, including results as they come in, follow us on Twitter via the Harrogate Hound feed.

A full round-up of results will also be posted here.

Did you vote yesterday? What’s your view of how the council runs services in our area? Post your comments below, tweet us, or email with your views.


And that’s it – a very swift count today!

The results are: one Conservative gain from Lib Dem (Pateley Bridge), one Lib Dem gain from Conservative (Nidd Valley) and one Independent gain from Conservative (Ouseburn).

The make-up of the council is now Conservatives 33, Lib Dems 17, Liberal Party 1, Independents 3. The Conservatives hold their majority, but it is reduced from 14 to 12.

Thanks for sticking with us this morning. Keep following @HarrogateHound on Twitter for all the post-election interviews and pick up a copy of the Advertiser on Friday, May 11 for a full break-down of results, reaction from the candidates and news of how the changes might affect you.


Ouseburn – Independent GAIN for Chris Lewis, taking the seat from Conservative Martin Leather who was due to be deputy mayor this year. A new deputy mayor will now have to be chosen.


Claro – Conservative HOLD for Anthony Alton.


Nidd Valley – Lib Dem GAIN for Helen Flynn. Previously held by Conservative Les Ellington, who is the outgoing mayor, who did not stand this year.


Wathvale – Conservative HOLD as Bernard Bateman wins. Previous councillor for the ward Chris Brown did not stand.


Washburn – Conservative HOLD as Christine Ryder is elected. Former seat holder Richard Grange did not stand.


Kirkby Malzeard – Conservative HOLD for Margaret Atkinson.


Pateley Bridge – Conservative GAIN for Stan Lumley, who unseats long-standing Lib Dem councillor Stan Beer. Lumley has served as mayor of Pateley Bridge for the past year.


Lower Nidderdale – Conservative HOLD for Christine Hill.


Bishop Monkton – Conservative HOLD for Ian Galloway.


Ribston – Conservative HOLD for Caroline Bayliss.


Newby – Conservative HOLD for Nick Brown.


Marston Moor – Liberal HOLD for John Savage.


Boroughbridge – Conservative HOLD for Robert Windass, who thereby confirms he will be the new mayor.


It seems that – so far at least – the Conservatives are managing to hold on to their seats in the rural areas around Harrogate. This doesn’t reflect the national picture, but there are plenty more results still to be announced.


Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale – Conservative HOLD for Shirley Fawcett.


Mashamshire – Conservative HOLD for Nigel Simms.


Killinghall – Conservative HOLD for Michael Harrison.