Harrogate district residents head to polls for local elections

Harrogate district residents will go to the polls today, May 5, in what looks to be the biggest set of elections outside of a general election, for some years.

Thursday, 5th May 2016, 8:24 am
Updated Thursday, 5th May 2016, 9:41 am
Voting in Harrogate

Not only will residents vote on local council elections but they will also vote in the police and crime commissioner (PCC) elections.

For Harrogate Borough Council, 16 of the district’s 54 local seats will be contested with parish elections also taking place.

Conservatives and Labour will be fielding candidates in all 16 seats, with the Lib Dems contesting seven, six Greens, UKIP with two and one Independent.

Bishop Monkton, Boroughbridge, Claro, Killinghall, Kirkby Malzeard, Lower Nidderdale, Marston Moor and Mashamshire will all be contested.

As will Newby, Nidd Valley, Ouseburn, Pateley Bridge, Ribston, Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale, Washburn and Wathvale.

Prominent council figures including Caroline Bayliss, Helen Flynn, John Savage, Anthony Alton, Chris Lewis and Christine Hill will also be retiring this year.

Voting will also take place in 40 police areas in England and Wales, including North Yorkshire for the role of PCC.

Conservative candidate Julia Mulligan will be standing for reelection against Labour’s Stephen Howley, Lib Dem’s James Blanchard and Independent Mike Pannett.

The first ward declarations for district council elections will be at 1.30pm, and PCC at 5pm, and you can keep up to date with the Advertiser online for coverage.