Election 2015: 19 seats up for grabs at Harrogate District Council

NADV 1505081AM1 Harrogate election results. (1505081AM1)
NADV 1505081AM1 Harrogate election results. (1505081AM1)

There are 19 seats on Harrogate Borough Council up for grabs this afternoon, six are currently held by the Lib Dems, one independent and twelve Conservative.

Two Councillors have stood down, Greta Knight (Lib Dem) is standing down from the Woodfield ward after five years and George Pickles (Conservative) is standing down from the Ripin Minster seat after four years.

Conservative MP, Andrew Jones held the Harrogate and Knaresborough seat, increasing his majority from 1,039 to 16,371 while the Lib Dems saw more than half of their 2010 voters desert them.

The swing from the Lib Dems to the Conservatives was 14.4 per cent swing, with a turnout of 70.06 per cent.

The following seats on the district council will be announced at the Harrogate International Centre from around 2pm today; Bilton, Granby, Harlow Moor, High Harrogate, Hookstone, Knaresborough East, Knaresborough King James, Knaresborough Scriven Park, Low Harrogate, New Park, Pannal, Ripon Minster, Ripon Moorside, Ripon Spa, Rossett, Saltergate, Starbeck, Stray. Woodfield.