New Mayor voted in for Wetherby Town Council at meeting

Wetherby Town Council voted in Coun Neil O’Byrne as Mayor for the 2020/21 civic year at the Annual Town Meeting last week.

He takes over office from Coun Galan Moss who distributed £1,000 to the Parent Teacher Associations of four Wetherby primary schools, from his charity appeal.

The funds were raised across the Mayor’s first year in office and include donations from public appearances and from Town Councillors in lieu of sending each other Christmas Cards.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Coun O’Byrne currently serves the North Ward and is on the committees of budget and governance, CIL, Co-option and finance and general purposes Committee. He is also the council representative for the Wetherby Twinning Association.

Coun Dawn Payne is the Deputy Mayor for Coun O’Byrne.

Wetherby’s Annual Town Meeting was held via Zoom because of coronavirus lockdown restrictions. Members of the public were able to log in to see and hear their councillors.