John Grisham awarded '˜outstanding contribution' award in Harrogate

Best-selling author John Grisham has tonight been awarded one of the highest honours in the world of crime writing in Harrogate.

Thursday, 19th July 2018, 10:26 pm
Updated Thursday, 19th July 2018, 10:27 pm
John Grisham

The author of books including The Firm, Pelican Brief, The Chamber and The Client, was announced as the winner of the ninth Theakston Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award.

Grisham joins Lee Child, Val McDermid, Sara Paretsky, Lynda La Plante, Ruth Rendell, PD James, Colin Dexter and Reginald Hill as recipients of the Award.

John Grisham said: “About 20 years ago I attended a Chelsea football match with my close friend and editor, Oliver Johnson. Afterwards, we retired to a pub and I had my first pint of Theakston Old Peculier. Others followed. It’s my favourite beer in the world.”

Sign up to our daily Harrogate Advertiser Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

He added: “I want to thank you for your loyal readership over the years, because of you, the readers, people like myself and Lee Child are lucky enough to do what we do. Thank you very much.”

Stav Sherez was awarded the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award for The Intrusions.

The announcement was made by Mark Lawson at a dinner at the Old Swan in Harrogate,

The crime writing festival runs at the Old Swan until Sunday.