Queen of Island hands out old school prizes

St Aidan’s Church of England High School welcomed back former student, Lauren Morton, to their annual Presentation of Certificates Awards Evening in Constance Green Hall last week.

Wednesday, 4th November 2015, 11:07 am

Lauren had appeared on the Channel 4 series The Island with Bear Grylls where she endured six weeks of starvation and dehydration and was one of the 10 who made it to the end of the experiment.

Lauren’s ability to push herself to the limit resulted in her being dubbed in the media as the Queen of the Island. Prior to that she had attempted to row across the Atlantic Ocean, raising over £30,000 for her chosen charity, a hospice that cared for a friend who died from cervical cancer aged 23. She will also be undertaking the same venture in a crew of four girls in the next few weeks.

Headteacher, John Wood, reported on yet another outstanding year GCSE and A’ Level results as well as in the other extra-curricular activities.

Sign up to our daily Harrogate Advertiser Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

He commented on successes at Area, County and International level and thanked staff for their commitment, especially those who retired at the end of last accademic year.

GCSE subject awards went to:

Additional Science, Samuel Webster; Art, Sophie Lansdall; Biology, Nicholas Phoenix; Business Studies, Seth Jamieson; The Jean Critchlow Award for Chemistry, Alice Newlyn; CiDA, Megan Knight; Computing, Matthew Topham; Dance, Tilly Rhodes; Drama, Estela Green; Engineering, David Soutar; English, Jamie Ranson-Hayes; Food Technology, Rachel Morrell; French, Alice Green; Geography, Megan Beecroft; German, Chloe Thompson; Health and Social Care, Jenny Damp; History, Elizabeth Green; Mathematics, Bethany Kirk; Music, Katherine Meade; Physical Education (boy), George Mills; Physical Education (girl), Alice Dunsmore; Physics, Hari Gogna; Product Design, George Holland-Morton; Religious Studies, Richard Anslow; Science, Mitchell Richardson; Spanish, Heather Flint; Vocational Course, Chloe Marshall.

The Dennis Richards’ Award For The Outstanding Double Linguist, Ella Kon. The Jean Walker Award for Contribution To School Life, Alaric Bishop. The Reg Dickens Award for Overall Achievement in Sport - (boy), Zac Berrill; (girl), Lucy Fairhurst. The Sybil Mansell Award for Outstanding Overall Academic Achievement - Grace Gulwell, Amy Johnston, Fionnuala Murphy, Bethany Taylor. Tim Driffield Award For Courage and Endeavour - Katie Oates, Charlotte Stacey.