Preston firmly on course for treble while Scholes toast Walton win

hsb  John Smith bowling for Kirk Deighton against Kirk Hammerton.  (130706M2a)

hsb John Smith bowling for Kirk Deighton against Kirk Hammerton. (130706M2a)

Have your say

It’s going to take a real battle to stop Great Preston from clinching the Wetherby League title this year, as they motored to another win on Saturday.

Lee Russell (39) topscored as Preston reached 197-8 against the bowling of B White (5-33).

Russell then plundered 6-37 and Andy Clark 3-14 to skittle Bilton in Ainsty out for 87.

Barwick defeated St Chad’s Broomfield, racking up 195 including 60 from Matthew Wood.

Chris Benedek fought back with 53 but Chris Harrison’s 5-48 was enough to limit Chad’s to 178.

Good work down the order guided Scarcroft to victory over Old Mods, who made 228-7 through Coen Chernishoff (60) and S Swain (53no).

Cameron Williams (64), S Smith (51) and Damian Aston (49) knocked off the runs for a win at 229-8.

Kirk Deighton cruised past Shadwell, who were dismissed for 100 after Chris Malthouse collected 4-18.

Anthony Daniels (43) batted Deighton home at 101-2.

Scholes enjoyed a heavy win over Walton, James Biscombe (98) and Danusha Ranasinghe (48) steering Scholes to 287-5.

Walton were stopped at 185-9 in reply, K Mahmood hitting 58 with Mark Sirrell and M Ford taking three wickets apiece.

Wetherby defeated Garforth PC, amassing 186-9 against the bowling of Andy Conboy (4-46).

Warren Else took 3-23 to limit Garforth to 135 all out in reply.

Wetherby also reached the finals of the Fred Fleetwood on Sunday, achieving 217-8 before bowling Walton out for 124.

They will face Great Preston, who defeated Garforth. Preston made 119-8 in answer to Garforth’s 118-9.

Preston remain on course for the treble this year, on top of the league and making the semis of the Senior Evening Cup after beating South Milford.

In Division Two, Kirk Hammerton suffered another blow, losing to Saxton.

Matt Ball (80) and Liam Fisher (62) took Saxton to 241-7 against the bowling of Liam Fisher (4-65).

Dan Hewer (6-24) and Dave Crampton (4-50) were destroyers in chief as Hammerton were ousted for 96.

Crossgates were too strong for Kirk Deighton A, making 163-9 through M Hatherley (40) and M Molloy (40). Deighton were all out for 82 in reply, A Busfield scalping 7-43.

Church Fenton were felled by South Milford, who posted 242-7 with three half-centures from R Peregrine, D White and P Battye.

L White then captured 4-41 to help oust Fenton for 118.

Whixley beat Hillam, achieving 227-6 via J Richardson (68) and J Webster (58no). L Frankland made 60 for Hillam but they were short at 206-8.

Thorner defeated Sherburn, who reached 211-6 through John Kendell (75) and Sammy Wainwright (52no). Bilal Sabir (85no) steered Thorner to 212-6.

Martin Wood smashed 90 to lead Sicklinghall past Old Leos, Sicklinghall amassing 245-8 with A Siddique adding 44.

J Earley made 43 not out in reply but Leos were a long way off at 175-9. Richard Winn and Steve Wood both took three wickets.

Other results Div Three: Scarcroft A 174-7 lost to East Keswick 175-5;Headingley Bramhope 269-8 beat Shadwell A 75 ao;St Chads Broomfield A 60-0 beat Barwick in Elmet A 59 ao;Amaranth 116 ao lost to Ledsham 120-4;Green Hammerton 143 ao (lost to Bilton in Ainsty A 143-2; Long Marston 154-2 beat Rufforth 150-8.

Div Four: Thorner Mexborough A 164 ao lost to Garforth Parish Church A 166-5; Headingley Bramhope A 267 ao) lost to St Chads Broomfield B 316-9;Great Preston A 139-9 beat Long Marston A 136-9;Walton A v Saxton A (forfeited by Walton A);Wetherby A 139 ao v Old Modernians A 140-3.

Div Five: Meanwood 223 ao beat Hillam & Monk Fryston A 130 ao; Kippax Welfare 160-5 beat Headingley Bramhope B 159ao; Crossgates A 87ao lost to Gledhow 88-5; Kirk Hammerton A 98-2 beat Church Fenton A 96ao; South Milford A 254-5 beat Wighill Park 90ao; Whixley A 160ao tied with Sherburn Eversley A 160-6).

Div Six: Green Hammerton A 89 ao lost to Sicklinghall A 214-6; East Keswick A 191-7 beat Scholes A 83 all out; Rufforth A 87-2 beat Amaranth A 83 all out.


Best Batting

Paul Scantlebury (Meanwood) 105 v Hillam A

Best Bowling

A Busfield (Crossgates) 7-43 v Kirk Deighton A

Dan Hewer (Saxton ) 6-24 v Kirk Hammerton

Lee Russell (Great Preston) 6-37 v Bilton in Ainsty