Nidderdale League: Blubbs stay top rack as Birstwith rack up mighty Ripley win

hsb  Sam Parker batting for Ouseburn against Goldsborough.  (130706M3a)

hsb Sam Parker batting for Ouseburn against Goldsborough. (130706M3a)

Have your say

There is no change at the top of the Theakston Nidderdale League, Blubberhouses still firmly in charge after beating Goldsborough.

The leaders accrued 273-8 through Steve Wilkinson (78) and Lee Platts (41), while Goldsborough managed 184-7 in reply.

hsb  Graham Shorter bowling for Goldsborough against Ouseburn.  (130706M3c)

hsb Graham Shorter bowling for Goldsborough against Ouseburn. (130706M3c)

Jack Joy topscored with 49.

Ouseburn stay second having beaten Masham, who posted 153-8 via Andrew Smith (56).

Sam Parker (77no) and Tom Parker (47) batted Ouseburn over the line at 154-1.

Spofforth remain third after keeping Alne at bay. James Roberts (81) was the mainstay of Spofforth’s 250-6, C Clark adding 47 and Will Long 41.

Eddie Myers responded with 46 but Alne were stopped at 193-8 in reply.

Darley lost out to Bishop Thornton, posting 205-9 including 53 not out from Jonathan Rice. Luke Forge (57) and Rob Nelson (53) carried Thornton past the post at 210-7.

Champions Hampsthwaite got back to winning ways, Tom Foster delivering a superb 138 not out to carry Hamp’ to 222-4. Tony Whittaker cracked 46 in reply but three wickets apiece for A Durie and Andy Boyle left Killinghall all out for 169.

Helperby rose to the challenge against Dacre Banks, who made 245-5 after impressive batting from Steve Lawrence (71), Asif Ayoub (56) and Waqas Rasheed (57) with Mark Spilman plundering 4-37.

Spilman then swapped his ball for a bat to crash 85 with overseas star Lane Tutty adding 70.

Pannal look unstoppable in their march to return to Division One, Knaresborough Forest becoming their latest victims.

Forest racked up a fine 261-6 courtesy of great batting by Dave Skaith (114) and Stewart Pyke (47).

But Andy Johnson (103), John Strover (81no) and Andy Ellis steamrollered this to carry Pannal to a winning 262-5, despite the efforts of Sam Rose (4-65).

Birstwith meanwhile were in prolific form with the willow against Ripley, accruing 343-5 via Jim Riley (101), Scott Thomas (82no) and Jonny Millward (62).

Pete Hardisty bagged 5-40 to skittle Ripley for 98.

Studley Royal crushed Bolton Abbey by eight wickets, Abbey reaching 170-8 after Phil Midgely (41) and Jake Parkinson (43) impressed.

Dan Coad (45) and Josh Crewe (66no) knocked them off at 172-2.

Pateley Bridge thumped Galphay by 214 runs, Mike Eglin (97) and Chris Langley (71) firing Pateley to 283.

John Thompson took 6-30 as Galphay were ousted for 69.

Burton Leonard toasted a six-wicket win over West Tanfield, who made 217-7 through Boddie Arthur (40) and Sam Abel (96).

Dan Thirkell captured 4-32 and then hit 85 as Burton overhauled Tanfield at 220-4. Sam Crompton topscored with an unbeaten 97.

l2013 Finals Day will take place on Sunday, July 21 at Birstwith Cricket Club.

This is the second year that the Theakston Nidderdale League have held three finals on the same day and if last year’s event at Knaresborough Forest was anything to go by, the day will be a cracker.

The day kicks off at 11am with the Peter Bentley Cup Final between Ripley 3rds and Middleham 2nds.

Then, at 2pm, its the Wath Cup Final between Harrogate 4ths and Wath and Melmerby.

At 5pm the Barrett Cup Final will take place between Galphay & Winksley and Knaresborough Forest.

The League wishes to thank Birstwith Cricket Club for agreeing to host the day and any support is more than welcome. There will be a bar, a barbecue and a raffle.

Division Three: *Harrogate Strays 297-3 Burnt Yates 81; Kirkby Malzeard 249-6, Hampswaite 2nds 180-8; Masham 243-8 Rainton 68-10; Ouseburn 2s 170 ao Killinghall 2s 174-1; Raskelf 222-7 Pannal 117ao; Scotton 141-6*Markington 81ao.

Division Four: *Studley Royal 161-7 Ripon 165-3; Alne 2nds 254-2 Birstwith 255-6; Bishop Monkton 192 Lofthouse & Mid 193-2; Burton Leonard 128-10 Middleham 133-5; Pannal Ash 119-8 Newby Hall 123-0; Thornton-Le-Moor 177-9 *Staveley 180-4.

Division Five: *South Kilvington 164-7 Harrogate 165-8; *Pateley Bridge 184-4 Crakehall 136-9; Blubberhouses 2nds 214-7 Ripley 2nds 124-10; North Stainley 166 all out Sharow 2nds 167-8; Spofforth 2nds 225-4 Goldsborough 2nds 228-6.

Division Six: Spennithorne & Harmby 28-1 Darley 2nds 25-8; *Knaresborough Forest 194-8 Sessay 195-7; Bolton Abbey 2nds 182-6, Boroughbridge 185-7; Glasshouses 187-6 Helperby 186-7; Little Ribston 149 Pannal 150-4;Raskelf 117 *Bishop Thornton 117-0.

Division Seven: *Scotton 201-5, (A Black 86; M.Hings 4-54), Arthington 165-9; Middleham 58 *Thirsk 59-1; Newton Le Willows 260-6, *Birstwith 264-4; Ouseburn 3rds 181ao, Studley Royal 4ths 184-5; Pannal 4ths 148-9 Marton-cum-Grafton 149-4.

Division Eight:*Killinghall 3rd Xl 132 Hampsthwaite 3rd Xl 136-6; *West Tanfield 141-9 Bedale 142-2; Burton Leonard 164-9 North Stainley 152-10 ; Helperby 3rds 86-10 Ripley 3rds 87-0; Little Ribston 2nds 106 all out KFCC 3rds 107-2; Staveley 231-5: Burnt Yates 172-6: Staveley 5 burnt Yates 1 ;

Division Nine: *Arthington 221-8: Kirkby Malzeard 161-6; *Studley Royal 5ths 97, Thirsk 3rds 98-5; *Studley Royal 97, Thirsk 98-7; Galphay & Winksley 2nds 189-7, Wath & Melmerby 2nds 124; Ripon 89 *Newby Hall 93-5.